Marijn

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/10/2017 - 25/10/2018


  • Description

    Hi there! My name is Marijn and I am a wandering dreamer from the Netherlands who until now felt most at home in Berlin. A few months ago I quit my office job, cancelled my flat and gave away most of the stuff that was owning me instead of me owning them. After two little stopovers of one week in Malaysia and Australia, New Zealand is the beginning of my travels. A whole year in this lovely country and then I would love to sail along the Polynesian islands and spend some time in Asia and maybe even travel back to Europe over land. Though my plan is not to plan or to plan only a little bit ahead, so who knows what will happen instead.

    Before I discovered Workaway I already volunteered a lot through different organisations. I for example went wwoofing in the mountains north of Sofia in Bulgaria, I went wwoofing on Pico Island on the Azores of Portugal, I taught English to slum kids near Jakarta through AIESEC Indonesia, I help with and enjoy the most wonderful theater festival called Oerol on the island Terschelling nearly every year.

    Whenever I update my CV it feels as if I volunteer more than that I’ve had ‘real’ jobs. I think that says a lot about me. I never cared much about a career and don’t define myself by my university degree or my current job. As it might interest my future hosts, I for example worked in a bakery, a candy shop, entertained kids on camp sides, did a lot of cleaning, worked at festivals and music venues and I've got experience in customer support. Since arriving to New Zealand I have had two farm jobs: planting melons and thinning apple trees. Both these minimum wage jobs involved unhealthy chemical work environments and I can’t wait to spend time on an organic farm again. I think I would rather not earn money at all and live in a healthy sustainable place where I can learn everything I need to some day become self sufficient.

    Since my main focus is never my job, I always spend a lot of time and energy on my hobbies. Because I am traveling at the moment I'm not enrolled in any course or a member of any club right now. Things I did in the past are for example singing in a pop choir, ballet class, analog photography double exposure cross processing experiments and hula hooping. And then there are the interests for which you don't need any course, club or fixed place to live: I can watch campfires for hours and hours, I love board, card and real life games, I really like to spend a lot of time around the kitchen table with good company and I super enjoy hanging out in the park with my lovely friends and the friends I haven't met yet.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I speak Dutch, German and English, I know all about analog photography, I am a pro in cleaning toilets and showers, I am very social with animals and people, I enjoy garden work and farming, but am still in a learning stage and have difficulties sometimes distinguishing weeds from crops. Which might not be too bad, since I am very interested in learning about edible weeds. In general I think I am a quick learner and am usually able to adjust easily to new (working) environments. I always give my best, although I have to admit that I’m not the fastest worker.

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, German, English

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

My Photo Album

Feedback