Lisa

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Kenya

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/12/2018 - 01/05/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello! I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada. I have most recently worked as a Care Aide for the elderly, and had my own small homecare business. However, I had the opportunity to visit Kenya this year for 7 months, and really enjoyed it; I am returning there for December 2018. I hope to find a rewarding Workaway placement where I can be of service, most likely with children or older people. My past work experience includes 10 years working in a hospital as a Respiratory Therapist. I am happy to help cook, clean, and generally pitch in as needed. I look forward to meeting you!

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Other

  • What skills do you have?

    I am trained and certified in helping people with activities of daily living (dressing, bathing, using the toilet, eating, etc.) I love to play with and interact with children, and feel I have a talent for this. Before this career, I worked in Intensive Care in a Vancouver hospital, and am comfortable with first aid, CPR, etc.
    My last Workaway experience was providing homework help/English tutoring for an Italian family, and it was a very positive experience.
    I worked in customer service previous to healthcare, and have a passion for helping customers in a friendly and efficient manner. During college, I worked as a hotel chambermaid for several years, and know how to clean!
    I am good in medical emergencies!

  • Languages spoken

    English, basic Spanish, French and Swahili

  • Age

    45

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    I love the concept of Workaway, since I am a keen traveler, but have limited interest in sightseeing trips. It is so valuable to experience a new place by living in the same spot for some time, and getting to know the people and surroundings more thoroughly.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No.

Photos

Feedback