Lenka

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Czech Republic, France, Germany, Japan, Netherlands

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/05/2018 - 31/10/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hey I'm Lenka, I am looking forward to experiencing new cultures and meeting people from all walks of life over the next 6 months while I travel. I love the concept of workaway as I prefer to see places from a locals perspective, I believe it is a great way to learn about and explore foreign areas while keeping travel costs low by exchanging help for accommodation/food.

    I am an avid gardener and enjoy daytime hikes through the bush and around the coast. I recently biked nearly the length of our North Island over 12 days to raise awareness for the Zero Carbon Act, a piece of climate change legislation that I would like to see implemented in my country... it was the hardest physical and mental challenge I've ever faced! I do plan to explore more new places by bike now though.

    While I'm away I will miss our labrador dog, Kaanu, our local farmers markets and the coffee machine at my parents house.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening - I have worked several seasons in an apple orchard thinning fruit, pruning trees and packing produce. I have grown my own vegetables for about three years and love being outside doing work. I have been learning to grow gourmet mushrooms over the past year.
    Eco Projects - I have my Permaculture Design Certificate which I completed in 2016, Bali. I am interested in environmental sustainability and full-circle design of systems. I have spent some time helping with native bush restoration in NZ.
    Childcare - I'm responsible and have had several child-minding jobs which I've always enjoyed.
    Cleaning/House-help - My mum has run a holiday rental home for 15 years which I help to clean and prepare for visitors so I understand the importance of making a place fresh. I used to clean a pilates studio once a week during my school years and have recently worked in our local laundromat.
    Food - It's fun, I'm forever improving my cooking abilities.
    BE(Hons) Chemical Process Engineering

  • Languages spoken

    English, French (basic)

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    New Zealand

  • What else ...

    The main places I'm looking for work is in Japan and France but I am open to other countries, particularly in Europe if an opportunity arises.

    Japan, May 12th until early June - I am looking for a host for 1-2 weeks, possibly 3, so I can extend my visit in this country.

    France, Mid June until end August - I am looking for experiences in the country for both short/long stays. I have a working holiday visa that expires August 10th so I can do paid work also.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I'm mildly allergic to bee stings

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback