Libby

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    19/08/2017 - 19/08/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    814

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello!! I am very eager to continue engaging in Workaway experiences! I am an avid traveler and love to experience and learn about new cultures. To date I have visited 38 countries and 33 of the United States. In addition to traveling, I have also lived in Chile and Spain (twice)!
    Colorado is my home base while in the U.S., and I love to spend time outdoors hiking, snowboarding, camping and exploring! For the past three years, I have been a 4th grade teacher at an inner-city public school, where most families speak Spanish as a first language. This gave me the chance to continue developing my Spanish skills-- although not perfectly, I find I can communicate with ease using Spanish in everyday conversations.
    I decided to take this school year off to explore new places and develop new skills. I am passionate about meeting new people and always looking for a fun adventure. I've always been described as crafty, and I'm developing a love for photography. I'm also the youngest in a family of 4 girls - so with my 3 sisters, 3 brothers-in-law and 6 nieces and nephews (all under the age of 8), I value family time and enjoy big gatherings. I also have fun coming up with projects and games to entertain the kiddos!

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Communication, problem-solving, adaptability. I'm a teacher, so I'm used to directing many children at once, as well as advocating for their needs in a large public-school setting. I also have worked in many team settings, so I am able to easily navigate new situations that require collaboration as well as leadership. My varied experiences in the past years as a global learner and teacher have equipped me with skills that enable me to be an effective member of any team. I hope to have the opportunity to use my passion for teaching, my people skills and passion for learning to make a positive contribution to your company.

    I am a fast learner and I am eager to jump in and learn a new skill-- especially gardening, farming, or building!


    Recently, I have participated in multiple Workaway style experiences in Peru. Through these different stays I worked as a receptionist, bartender, kitchen assistant, waitress, translater, and helped with basic gardening, & website upkeep.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish (intermediate)

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    US citizen

  • What else ...

    I am so excited to meet you and leave a meaningful contribution in your lives!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback