Laurie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, Uganda

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/01/2015 - 27/01/2017


  • Description

    I have a strong interest in helping the less fortunate, particularly in education and my heart is wanting to do so in Africa! I especially am interested in education for girls and women, but would love to work with anyone in need. I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry (graduated 2005), with a minor study in Art. I have lots of art, computer and charity work experience.

    I have been volunteering with a non-profit building a school and orphanage in Liberia. For that organization I manage the website, Facebook and YouTube accounts. I write and send newsletters to our donors, I am a key member of the fundraising team and I have put together and am managing a volunteer team working to increase awareness and funds for our organization.

    Because the organization is still in the construction phase, I am interested in getting some submersion experience with various NGOs in multiple countries in Africa this year (2015) and maybe into 2016! I hope to learn more about NGOs, Africa, teaching, myself and how I can be useful to others.

  • Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    IT/Computers/Internet
    Social Media
    Fund Raising
    Child Care
    Manual Labor
    Tutoring
    Sewing
    Crafts
    Art

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    35

  • Nationality

    United States

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback