From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, United Kingdom, United States, Virgin Islands (U.S.)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/01/2017 - 01/09/2017

  • Description

    Hello there workaway community! I'm Laura! I am 18 years old and currently reside in Long Island, New York. I'm taking a gap year between highschool and university because i grew up in a small town and want to get a taste of what's out there. As of now I've only done one workaway as a language practice volunteer in Busan, South Korea, but I'd like to do many more! From now (November) until about mid January I'm going to be working/ taking a two week trip to Thailand so any time after that is a-okay for me. So shoot me a message, I'm excited to work with you!

    (My countries listed are just places I'd like to go, but I'm open to anywhere so send a message regardless of where you're located!)

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    Working with children; I have a younger sister and have been babysitting all my life so if you have a little one I'd love to help out!

    Interpersonal Skills; always ready to mediate compromise and collaborate to make any experience as effective and positive as possible!

    Domestic; Cleaning has never been a chore for me, just something I know needs to get done. Washing dishes or a load of laundry is already apart of my daily routine so house help is no problem.

    Hard worker (or at least i'd like to think so); I've doubled as a waitress and busser before which means thinking on your feet, loud crowds, angry customers and plain hard work. So I won't go into a job expecting fun and games because sometimes work is just simply, work.

    Experience in the oceanography/aquaculture* field; I frequent wetlabs and am familiar with corresponding equipment (hemocytometer, ph chart, cleaning techniques + equipment, ect)
    *most familiar with broodstock

  • Languages spoken

    English, American Sign Language, Some Spanish, willing and very excited to learn more!

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Previously a vegetarian but will be giving this up in order to fully appreciate/experience other cultures


My adventures

selfie mid crowd surf, pretty rad if you ask me
I adore sea life more than just about everything
quick ramen break while hiking!
checking out some local historical sights in my town
Haedong Yonggungsa Temple in Busan, South Korea. These little guys are supposed to promote academic success, lets hope it works!