Ka

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Indonesia, Japan, Macau, Malaysia, South Korea, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/09/2018 - 31/08/2019


  • Description

    Hello. How are you? My name is Ka. I am an open-minded Hmong American, who enjoys traveling and learning about various cultures. I'm also open to trying new things. I am a trustworthy, responsible, passionate, energetic and organize person who would love to contribute to you and/or your goal.

    Through my traveling experiences, I became interested in the world. I want to see more. I want to learn more. I want to experience more. I want to share something of myself to the world. I want to help others.

    We come from different parts of the world and share different experiences, but we all aim to achieve a better future for ourselves, our loved ones, and our goals and dreams.

    If you have any questions, feel free to ask me anything.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have done various volunteering works. For about two years, I helped new immigrants/refugees and low-income adult learners with basic education needs, such as GED obtainment and post-secondary preparation. I assist these adult learners in learning basic computer skills to write resumes and find jobs, and to successfully develop technology and independent learning skills through hands-on workshops.

    I was also a literacy volunteer at an elementary school for children between kindergarten to third grade. I supported the Volunteer Coordinator in school literacy events and completed various administrative tasks. My main focus was to work with students on literacy interventions to decrease the achievement gap.

    Every summer since I can remember, my parents rent a small acre of land to do farming. I usually helped them out by planting, weeding, and harvesting the various crops (such as corn, squash, watermelon, cucumber, tomatoes, peppers, etc.).

    I am bilingual. My parents are Hmong so I grew up speaking the language ever since I can talk. I can also speak, write, and read in English. I can read Korean (not fluently) and my Korean is very limited. I do not know what I am reading 99% of the time.

    I have excellent English verbal, written, and instructional communication skills. I accurately follow and work according to directions. I am detail-oriented and very organized. In addition, I work effectively in a group and individually.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Hmong

  • Age

    2

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I volunteered at an English cafe in Busan, South Korea for 2 months. It was an amazing experience. I got to learn so much about Korea through the Korean students I talked with. I also made friends from all walks of life from around the world.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

the view from above Patuxai Monument (Vientiane, Laos, December 2013)
Hwacheon Sancheoneo Ice Festival (얼음나라 화천산천어축제) (Hwacheon, South Korea, January 2016)
Fushimi Inari Taisha (伏見稲荷大社) (Kyoto, Japan, March 2016)
Fushimi Inari Taisha (伏見稲荷大社) (Kyoto, Japan, March 2016)
Hwaseong Fortress [UNESCO World Heritage] (수원 화성) (Suwon, South Korea, May 2016)
Sky Park (하늘공원) (Seoul, South Korea, May 2016)
Tettegouche State Park (Minnesota, July 2016)
Jeju Island sister trip (South Korea, April 2018)
가천대학교 (Seoul, South Korea, 2018), met up with my Vietnamese friend who was studying there
Jay Cooke State Park (Minnesota, May 2018)
Chicago (August 2018)
Cheongpyeongsa Temple hike (Chuncheon, South Korea, October 2018)

Feedback