Jordan & Casey

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/01/2019 - 01/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My name is Jordan and my wife’s name is Casey. We’ve been married for a little over 3 years and we’re both really excited to travel. Once we heard about workaway we both immediately fell in love with the concept. We both enjoy the outdoors and learning new things. We hope to get some experience with farming, gardening, home projects, etc. Unfortunately we only speak english, but I’m working on my espanol and Casey has a little background in Japanese. We currently live in Hawaii, so most of our free time revolves around enjoying the island life - surfing, snorkeling, going to the beach and rock climbing.
    Jordan: I was able to travel a bit more in my late teens, early 20’s such as Costa Rica, El Salvador, Peru and various parts of Europe, but since then I’ve been pretty tied up with work and recently going back to school to become a nurse. I am really looking forward to seeing the world with Casey and immersing ourselves into other cultures. In my free time I mainly surf or anything that will get me in the water. I like to snorkel, bodysurf, fish, swim, hike, and rock climb with Casey. I have worked on a pumpkin farm and shallot farm in the past, but it has been almost 8 years since then. I also worked at a small hotel and restaurant where I was a front desk receptionist for the hotel, paddle board instructor, cleaned the hotel rooms and was also a waiter in the hotel’s restaurant. More recently I worked with children in a pediatric intensive care unit and an outpatient medical clinic. Currently I’m a nursing student here in a Hawaii and I’ll be ready to graduate the end of 2019. I have a passion to work with kids both in the medical field and in the community. I have volunteered with at risk youth in our community as a mentor teaching them how to surf. It was a very rewarding experience and I look forward to doing it again in the future. During our travels I hope to broaden my skills, learn about other cultures, develop my spanish and learn the languages of countries we may visit and contribute to others the best that I can.
    Casey: I am excited to travel to new places to learn about the different cultures. In my spare time I enjoy rock climbing, hiking and reading books. I recently took a class on sustainability and have developed a passion for living sustainable. I have worked as a nurse for the past 4 years specializing in adults with cardiac issues. I also have experience working on a Burn unit. I love being a nurse, every day is different and it’s a profession that allows me to help others.I enjoy giving back to the community, I volunteer with the Red Cross in Disaster Relief Department in Hawaii and once a week I volunteer with an organization that helps the elderly individuals in our community. In college, I helped start an organization called Student’s H.E.A.L. at San Diego State University that takes nursing students to Thailand to set up health clinics.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Jordan: I’m good with kids, general labor in farming, customer service jobs, surfing lessons, I can help around the house or with projects. I have no experience in construction, but I’m really eager to learn and I follow instructions well. I have basic skills to repair surfboards.
    Casey: Organization skills, taking care of pets, cleaning/household chores, customer service skills, caring for elderly, licensed registered nurse, Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support (ACLS) and Basic Life Support (BLS/CPR) certified, communication skill, and time management.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    28 & 29

  • What else ...

    We love acting as tour guides to our family and friends that come visit the island!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Casey is allergic to Penicillin and Doxycyclin

    • Special dietary requirements
      None

Photos

Feedback