Jaala

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bulgaria, Romania, Serbia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/05/2019 - 31/07/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi there! I’m just finishing up my first year of college, but I’m ready to have an adventure this upcoming summer.
    I was home-schooled my entire life, and took a gap year after high (primary) school in order to work full time. I’ve dabbled in a few things- interned at a machine shop, worked as a barista at Starbucks, but I’m itching to explore the world a bit and see what’s out there.

    I’m hungry to experience other cultures and languages, to live life outside my comfort zone. I love learning new and weird things, exploring nature, and hanging out with awesome people. I enjoy working hard and feeling productive.

    I grew up in a large family- five sisters and one brother. We don’t always get along, but I can’t imagine life without them. Although I grew up in a military family, I’ve never traveled outside the United States- and I want to change that!

    I’m a big softie when it comes to animals, and I’m very glad I’m not allergic to any (that I know of).

    I have a lot of interests, but here are a few:
    • Hiking
    • Skiing
    • Reading
    • Writing
    • Photography
    • Climbing trees
    • Gaga Ball
    • Brazilian jiu jitsu
    • Guitar
    • Ultimate frisbee
    • Table tennis


    “Adventure is out there!”
    -Up

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I've worked a bit on my grandparents' farm, and helped my parents' with their various gardens. I'm no master gardener, but I'm definitely willing to get my hands dirty! Give me any physical, labor-intensive activity, and I am totally up to the challenge.

    I'm great with kids! I have six siblings, some older, some younger. I've also been a camp counselor before for a few summers and have experience handling a lot of kids while still having a ton of fun.

    I'm not the most artistic person, but I am definitely willing to give anything a shot! I'm a quick learner (fair warning: be prepared for a lot of questions), and have a positive attitude that I hope to share.

    I've worked as a barista at Starbucks, and I've cultivated the art of making a good cup of coffee. I grew up helping my mom in the kitchen- baking and cooking is not something I'm particularly talented in, but I do enjoy helping out when I can.

    Although I'm not an expert computer programmer or anything, I do have technical abilities and can problem solve the majority of tech-related issues. I also have a general basis in terms of Office, Apple software, social media, and misc. programs.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    19

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback