Janine

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/07/2017 - 25/07/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    501

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hey there :) I'm Janine and since I finished my studies (communication design) in Düsseldorf in July I’m enjoying my gap year till the master starts in October. Studying and living in huge cities (Düsseldorf and Cologne) for more than five years after growing up in the countryside shows me where I belong and how I want to use my time: I want to get back to nature and leave the loud and anonymous city lifestyle behind me.

    I grew up in the countryside in the north of Germany, in a region you could call the center of intensive agriculture in Germany, where everything seems like nature but actually is just a big outdoor factory for reckless agriculture. I love nature and all its wonderful mysteries and thats why it’s hard to see, that nature at home gets exploited more and more and biodiversity has no value. Thats why I’d love to get to know regions in Europe, where nature is more original and where people care about it like by using permaculture principles. Though I don’t have lots of experiences in this, I’m super motivated to learn about it to have a basis for my future.

    My studies included lots of work at the computer, but though I tried to avoid it as good as possible by concentrating on photography, filming and especially installations. Especially in the end of my studies I chose topics about nature conservation and thats what I want to specialize on in my master (hopefully eco-social design in Bozen, Italy). My final bachelor-project for example had the title „Where have all the flowers gone?“ and was an installation about the value of natural meadows and the consequences of intensive agriculture which included a lot of dried wild flowers and self-made objects to visualize the feeling and information I wanted to communicate.
    Well, I’m telling that cause I love to work with my hands and to create new stuff by myself. The feeling of finishing something you’ve built yourself out of old or natural stuff is so much more valuable than buying it. I weaved a big carpet out of old fabrics, I couldn’t use anymore and I built a hanging shelf out of wood and fabrics to use it for different stuff like towels oder bed linen. But beside those „small“ projects I would love to be part of a big project like helping to restore an old house, refreshing old treasures.

    Well, beside all that stuff, I’m especially here to get to know whom I’m sharing this wonderful planet with.
    New people and new cultures, listening to old stories, telling some, giving and taking, sharing a wonderful time and learning a bit more about essence of life. Thats what I’m looking for :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Due to my studies I have skills in everything including design, especially in film, photography, texting and creating spaces. As I said, I love to create and build stuff by myself, so I could help with finding and realizing solutions for current problems. I grew up with dogs and I'm a real animal lover, so I guess there I'm a good helper too. But beside those skills I'm learning fast and I would love to get some more craft- and garden skills, so basically I can help with everything where help is needed :)

  • Languages spoken

    german, english, basics of dutch

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    german

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements

Profile is connected to:

jasonwarland


Photos

Normandie France
Visiting friends in Hamburg
Too small dog in Thailand
I want this land
Walking the train tracks in Sardinia :)
Finding friends during olive picking in Sardinia
Workaway in Piemonte, Italy
Lago di Antrona, Piedmont, Italy
No I'm not a fan of flights, but this picture has harmony inside
Daily life in Düsseldorf
Self made carpet and hanging shelf :)

Feedback