Haley

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    All Countries

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/03/2016 - 31/12/2016

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    672


  • Description

    Hi, I'm Haley (25yr/F)! I am an Oregon native looking to explore and learn new things. I have a BA in Rhetoric and Media studies from Willamette University but I currently have a case of wanderlust instead of a desire to work a 9 to 5. I am a hard worker and I see the value in a strong work ethic. I love the chance to be artistic and creative. I love yoga, permaculture, fermented foods, animals, kids, and trying new things (foods especially!)

    I have traveled solo:
    - around the USA for 3 months in 2014
    - SE Asia (Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, Vietnam and Cambodia) from April-July 2015
    - Central America (Nicaragua and Guatemala) from Oct-Dec 2915 where I got my Yoga Teacher Training Certificate and my Permaculture Design Certificate

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I just got back from Central America, where I completed my 200hr yoga teacher training as well as my Permaculture Design Certification course at the Yoga Forest in Guatemala. I've taken multiple workshops on fermentation.

    I have many years of child care experience. I spent two full summers nannying twins (they were 9 and then 10 the next summer) who I helped tutor with various summer projects and lessons. I've also worked on a professional paint crew and have been freelancing since then for private paint jobs on the side.

    I have a lot of experience with animals. I worked in a dog care business and have experience training besides that as well. I volunteered at the Humane Society for two years with the dogs and took numerous training courses. I volunteered at a dog rescue for a few weeks in Thailand. I am very comfortable around animals, especially dogs, but also horses. I used to ride for a few years and took numerous lessons/camps.

    I was a team leader for a nonprofit called Salem Harvest that connects farmers and volunteers to help harvest different crops what would otherwise go to waste and then it is donated to a food bank. I am very interested in sustainable eating and living in general. I want to continue to use and develop my permaculture skills and knowledge.

    Along with my communications related major, I have had many service industry/customer service jobs (waitressing, bartending etc.) which have made me very comfortable talking to all types of people.

  • Languages spoken

    English, conversational Spanish

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I am a conscious omnivore. I do eat meat but if you are vegetarian, I am completely fine with that.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback