Jen & Gregor

From: France & United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/01/2017 - 31/05/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    231

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi!

    We're Gregor and Jen, and we are just finishing up an amazing two-year adventure traveling through North America, the Caribbean, and Europe. In January 2017, we left behind our jobs and apartment to pursue a life on the road. Through Workaway, we have had some incredibly interesting and diverse experiences. We have loved learning and meeting all of the amazing people involved on this platform, and the time is now coming for us to settle down soon and apply all of this harnessed knowledge!

    A little bit about us:

    Gregor is a Frenchman who lived in France for the first 22 years of his life, completing his master's of Engineering in Energy, Water, and Environment. He has devoted his professional work to sustainable energies (solar and geothermal). He is a philosophy nut, an avid chess player, an adrenaline junky, and a lover of animals and the planet.

    Jen is an American who has a bachelor's in Nutrition/Food Science. She worked for a short time in the corporate world as a flavor chemist but made a career switch and has since been working in professional sourdough bread baking. She loves working with animals, good food, permaculture, and getting outdoors.

    Both of us are vegetarians with a passion for sustainable living, so working on projects with this emphasis is of particular interest to us. Our hopes are to live self-sufficiently, and we hope to gain as much knowledge as possible in that respect. We love to work outdoors and get our hands dirty!

    Thanks for reading! :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    So far, we've completed Workaway projects where we've helped with:
    - Hobby farm work (fence repair, gardening, weeding, dog walking)
    - Minor construction projects (building a composting toilet out of materials found on premises in New York, building tent platforms in the Caribbean)
    - Woodworking projects
    - Two sled dog projects: 1) helping to care for a pack of 19 sled dogs (poop scooping, feeding, entertainment, snuggling) in Alaska, and 2) helping to care for a pack of 30+ sled dogs in the Arctic Circle of Norway
    - Caring for, grooming, and entertaining 11 Bernese mountain dogs in the Italian Alps

  • Languages spoken

    English (both - fluent), French (Gregor - fluent, Jen - advanced level), Spanish (Jen - intermediate level), German (Gregor - intermediate level)

  • Age

    28 & 26

  • Nationality

    American (Jen) & French (Gregor)

  • What else ...

    Although we are flexible with tasks and love to try/learn new things, neither of us would be comfortable with activities that in any way involve animal suffering. This includes butchering, using animals for entertainment, meat processing, etc.!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Both vegetarians (no meat, fish or gelatin, but we do eat dairy and eggs)

Photos

Feedback