James

From: Norway

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Russia, Tanzania, Uganda

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/03/2019 - 31/12/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    20

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    A retired medical doctor, I have practiced in hospitals and as a general practitioner for many years both in the UK and in Norway. I was born in Tanzania to American missionaries and grew up in a remote Luo region of Tanzania on the shores of Lake Victoria, lived in the USA from ages 10 - 22, in the UK for 22 years and, since 1991, in Norway. I am a Norwegian citizen, and have three adult children and one grandchild. My chief hobbies in retirement are learning languages and permaculture. I love gardening and need to "make haste" to learn and apply permaculture principles in order to "make up for lost time." I love to travel and want to combine my hobbies/interests with travel. I can happily do some teaching/instruction where it can do some good and is wished for, but I very much enjoy physical labor too. I'm familiar with natural therapies based on homeopathy and anthroposophy, and have always tried to integrate them into my work as a physician.
    I am a positive person and have an enthusiasm for our planet and the life on it. I want to contribute to its recovery where we have injured it and to the preservation of its health and dynamic where it has been relatively spared human interference. I feel I am an artistic person, even though I am not talented in painting, drawing or playing music. I have a great love for the arts and have a particular fondness for music. I play the piano on a modest scale.
    I have a lot of experience in volunteer work, having cared for mentally handicapped children in a volunteer capacity for more than 3 years before studying medicine. I taught handicapped children in N. Ireland, in the USA and in Germany, all as a volunteer. As a volunteer, I also taught in a charity elementary school in Kibera in Nairobi, Kenya and Mbale, Uganda.
    I worked as a volunteer in bio-dynamic gardening and milked cows by hand in Co. Down, N. Ireland. As a medical student, I worked unpaid in a hospital in Ramotswa, Botswana for two consecutive summers.
    I enjoy conversation with other people who enjoy conversation.
    Despite telling about myself and all I have done and can do, I think I am a modest and laid back type of person.
    I can easily follow the guidance of somebody who wants a job done, and then get on with it quietly and diligently:-) But I can also lead when the context calls for it. Now I am at the stage in life where I put my career and professional skills behind me and want to open myself to learning and having new experiences.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Language. Gardening. Care of people and animals. I can teach health subjects and human biology. I can teach English, my native tongue. I can also teach Norwegian. I'm good at caring for and playing with children, and generally find it more mentally stimulating and spiritually uplifting conversing with a 6 year old than with a 60 year old.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Norwegian, German

  • Age

    72

  • Nationality

    Norwegian

  • What else ...

    I am in perfect health myself and function on the level of a much younger person, especially mentally.
    Having grown up in a rural area of Tanzania, the son of missionaries, I have a knack for roughing it and I enjoy outdoor adventures and living without modern accessories. Off-grid living appeals to me. I only became aware of Workaway in May, 2018, and have, up to now, volunteered happily and successfully in four different places and have plans for several more.
    I am not looking for a cheap holiday, but am seeking opportunities to spend my retirement in meaningful and creative ways which will, at the same time, be of value to others and to our planet.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback