Eimhin & Alice

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/01/2018 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi,
    As of June 16th 2015 my Girlfriend (Alice) and I embarked on our quest to travel around the world. We aim to take our time on this journey and to get to know the countries, cultures and people that we encounter along the way.
    We are both very interested in workaway as a way of travelling as we would love to help out and share skills and experiences wherever we can. We are sociable and friendly people and very keen to learn new skills and to share with others the skills we have learned.

    I am very proactive and have gathered a range of different skills through the types of work I have done; I have a honours degree in fine art, and am adept in drawing, film-work, sculpture and photography and have exhibited my work both nationally and internationally. I am passionate about both creative and practical projects, and especially enjoy having the opportunity to combine the two. I am skilled at woodwork having been employed as a carpenter and scenographer for macnas street theatre company and Giffords Circus. I have worked on multiple building projects and acquired many trades and skills over the years.


    Alice is a glider pilot and has a great passion for flying. She is a qualified electrician and spent a lot of her spare time in Nailsworth Community Workshop where she has learned a variety of different practical skills and crafts including woodwork to leather work. She also volunteers at the workshop.
    Alice spent four months WWOOFing in Ireland. She worked on a farm, in various gardens and as an au pair and really enjoyed the time she spent in each place.

    We both take a very hands-on approach to workaway projects and we have a very keen interest in gardening, landscaping and building. We have worked on a number of restoration, building and landscaping projects together. Between us we have multiple skills ranging from; carpentry, tiling, building, rendering, painting, decorating and design. We are also both qualified and experienced English teachers. Our general attitude is 'if we don't know how to do it, we will learn how to do it'. We also really love to cook.


    We are seeking out opportunities to stay with lovely people who would like some help in exchange for bed and board. We will try our hand at most types of work and love to forge new friendships.
    Thanks for taking the time to read a bit about us and if you would like to know more, please feel free to drop us an email.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Cooking, gardening, landscaping, building, decorating, general diy, Carpentry, Tiling, Plastering, woodwork, electrics, computers, artwork, photography, film making, writing, graphic design, teaching English, Hospitality

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish (learning), French, Irish, Italian (very basic)

  • Age

    30 & 32

  • Nationality

    Irish (Eimhin) and English (Alice)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

My Photo Album

Alice doing some electrical work
Eimhin doing fixing some posts in the vineyard in Sicily
The bed/sofa in our van, slides out to become a double bed
Pruning Olive trees
Dry-stone pig shelter we built in Brittany, France
The curved staircase we designed and constructed for a staw-bale house in Belgium (before being cladded in oak)
A series of tables Eimhin made using old wine boxes for a pub in Bristol
Alice using a lathe to turn a bowl from oak
An example of Eimhin's drawing and graphic design work.
Alice trying out the stairs for the first time. We also did a lot of the plastering in the house using earthen plaster.
Helping a Slavonian family save corn for the animals for winter.

Feedback