Daniel J.

From: Spain

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/07/2018 - 15/09/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    553

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I'm a 22 year old "kid" from Galicia, the most northwestern region of Spain, rigth on the corner on top of Portugal, known for its greenery, rainy climate, its connection to the sea, and copious amounts of food and home made liquor. It is full of people like me, who can seem tough and borderline rude at first, but as the saying goes around here, once you've become friends with a Galician, that sticks for life.
    I became a workaway volunteer in my second year of college, and as of today I have completed two stays in hostels, my first year in Bratislava, and the second one in Bucharest. One thing I realised after my first experience is how addictive Workaway can become, because of the people, cultures and everyday life you get to experience. With my two first experiences I learned the basis of hostel life, everything from general management, booking, chekc-ins and outs, basic hostel economics and so on and so forth.
    Althougth both these experiences were incredible and full of insight, I am looking for a different type of exchange now, something new for me, more outside of the usual city life beaten tracks, such as farms, eco-comunities, and so.
    I have experience with general maintenance DIY tasks, such as plastering and painting walls, (I used to take painting classes when I was kid, so I can get all artsy besides basic brush painting duty), building fences and pavement, gardening and chopping wood, basic/mid level mechanics in vehicles... Also I like to get my hands dirty and animal care is something I am really looking forward to. I am never afraid to take on new challenges as it is the only way to learn new things and share my knowlegde with other people.

    On a personal note, I am full of energy 24/7. Most of my free time I enjoy it doing sports, either surfing, cycling, swimming, slackline.. anything you throw my way that can entertain me for a few hours. I like to pick up books from time to time, specially in the summer.
    Back home in Vigo I spent most of my days in engineering school faculty, where I study mechanical engineering. Is a 6 year long career so at 22 it looks like I still have 2 more years left. Besides engineering I also enjoy learning new languages, I am fluent both in English and French, and I have now taken up German, althouh for the moment my level is pretty basic.

    As a quick summary, I like new things. Throw any task my way and I'll carry it out, because otherwise I wouldn't be looking for new workaway experiences. I like to explore. I like to learn. I am a hard worker. I respect others' views and opinions and I am nonjugdmental. I simply enjoy adventures.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I´m a fast learner, it doesn´t take me much time to pick up practice on any task I´m needed to do.
    Being a teacher for high school kids over the last 3 years I have a proven record of patience and capability to teach and explain things.
    Thanks to working in hostels I have picked up skills that range from desk management, to cleaning, making beds and cooking meals for all the team.
    What skills related with farms do I have? Well, maintenance is something I enjoy doing, painting, plastering, building, repairing, chopping wood and cleaning patches of land.. all of that I know how to do it.

    If there's something I don't know how to do I will find a way, trust me, I am stuborn that way.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish, English , French, German (just a little, enough to get around and not starve)

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    Spanish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

When in doubt of your hability to walk while drunk, just lay on the floor.
The moment I realized Mel Gibson should´ve called me for his movie about Christ´s life.
Overlooking Bratislava the past summer.
Just one the many beaches Vigo has, Panxon.
Some hiking paths in the hills surrounding Vigo.

Feedback