Lee & Lorann

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2018 - 08/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    We are on our journey! Currently (as of late October) in Croatia for the winter timeframe. My family: wife - 46 is an IT professional (previous career in event planning and marketing), very crafty and creative-minded with DIY skills (she even brought her sewing machine on this trip!!) myself - 46 with lots of organic gardening experience, sales background, farm experience, and rough carpentry knowledge, coaching varying sports (especially volleyball) and our two children, daughter 10 and son is 12, are taking a gap year in mid 2018-mid 2019 (with flexible dates) to explore and learn more about the world and other cultures, languages, cuisines, and peoples. We as parents both feel that travel is one of the best teachers for our children, and are looking for opportunities to work/serve & learn in areas across Europe, the Caribbean, and Latin America. We prefer finding assignments of 2-4 weeks (we can accept 1-2 week stays for the right opportunities) so we can truly feel immersed in the native culture. We are open to a long-term stay (1+ months) if the fit is right. My children have both been learning Spanish since kindergarten, unfortunately I (dad) only has a low-level ability in German , but my wife has conversational ability in Vietnamese. We love to learn new skills! We love animals too!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Lorann (IT, DIY, crafts, TEFL, marketing, general house maintenance) Lee (organic gardening, sales and customer service, coaching varying sports, teaching, rough carpentry, general farm work)

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    48 & 47

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    We are a Christian family who is looking to experience more of the world with our family as both a work sabbatical as parents, but also an amazing teaching tool for our children to immerse into local cultures, cuisines, and different experiences than what our little corner of the world can provide. We are low-maintenance and don't need fancy accommodations, and understand that this opportunity of workaway is new to us, and requires trust and good communication between both parties in order to be successful. We can provide professional references, and we also have Skype and Facebook accounts to "meet" online. Please feel free to ask any questions!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback