Charlie

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Panama

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/02/2019 - 16/06/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I'm currently living my best life and 'finding myself' in Central America... I started my travels in the beginning of March and will be travelling until June and so far having the BEST time!

    I consider myself to be a friendly, open-minded and creative person. I love painting, drawing and writing, and have recently spent the last month at a hostel in Tamarindo as their writer/blogger.

    I'm a big people-person too - I grew up living overseas and moving around a lot, so travel is a big part of my life and I love meeting weird and wonderful people from all over the world. I've worked in customer-facing / relationship-building roles too, so if you need me behind a reception desk or looking after guests, I have some experience. I believe I'm a happy and energetic person, and (hopefully!) good fun to be around (that is, when I'm not hangry).

    I can speak conversational Spanish.. it's still a little broken at times but getting a little better. I am also a floundering-intermediate surfer, a big foodie, and I do love a good boogie/groove!

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    ✎ WRITING - BLOGGING - JOURNALLING: I've got a BA first-class degree in Creative & Professional Writing and have experience in managing PR and social media in different roles. Also volunteered as a blogger/writer at a hostel via Workaway (March 2019)
    ♬ CREATIVE & ARTSY: pride myself in my creativity and love painting, drawing and doodling (can also show a makeshift portfolio if of use!)
    ⌛ TIME MANAGEMENT - ORGANISED - EFFICIENT: 2 years in a job working-from-home so very competent at managing and organising myself, working to deadlines and self-motivation
    ㋡ PEOPLE-SKILLS: I am a HUGE people-person! love meeting new people and truly believe the more people you meet the more you will learn and experience life
    ☯️ SURFING & SPORTS: a professional-beginner stroke intermediate surfer (looking to improve!), as well as keen outdoorsy and sporty enthusiast. Also a certified PADI Open Water diver
    ❀ NON-FOR-PROFIT/CHARITY: have worked for charities for the last five years, mainly in fundraising/marketing
    ❖ LEADERSHIP & TEAM WORK: worked in a senior charity-fundraising role where I've been responsible for teams of up to 8 - training, coaching and living with them for an 8-week campaign, keeping them motivated and happy and bringing everyone together as a team. (The year I was Senior we had our most successful campaign!)

  • Languages spoken

    English and (limited but looking to improve) conversational Spanish

  • Age

    23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No - a very happy customer

Photos

Hanging out in Lanzarote
Moppedding round Nusa Lembongan (one of my second homes!)
Quad-biking in Morocco (pre-falling off)
One of my favourite photos I've taken in Bali
A volunteering trip I went on at school to a local primary school in Sapa, Vietnam
Beautiful scenes at Chicen Itza in Mexico (photo taken by me!)
Nasi bunkus - my favourite food after diving
A painting I did of a street in Nusa Lembongan
Falling in love with the local cuisine in Morocco
Hoi An - one of my favourite places to photograph
Scuba diving in Thailand (off Phuket)
Cliff jumping in Mallorca

Feedback