Julia

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/02/2019 - 30/04/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I'm Julia, 31 years old from Germany and planning to travel around Asia for a couple of months.
    I've been travelling a lot over the last years cause I like to get to know other cultures and people. I'm an open minded and positive person that is always happy about new experiences. I haven't been to Asia yet and I think it's time to see the beauty of this continent. I think to get to know the people of a country and to understand a culture it's important to get close to the people. That's why I like the idea of workaway. It's a great opportunity to help people on the one hand side and to be part of a community on the other hand.
    Friends say I'm a good listener. I always try to help out and find solutions. I'm a practical thinking person. Don't talk about it too much, do it! I like to learn new skills and improve the ones I have.
    I've been working as a teacher in high school and primary school in Germany and also teaching German and English in Spain for a year.
    No matter how much I love teaching I've been always open for other kind of work. Some years ago I did a lot of farm work during a trip around the world. I really enjoyed that cause it was a very satisfying kind of work.
    I just love creating and be creative with other people!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    First of all I'm a teacher. I studied teaching for high school and I've been also teaching in primary school for a while now. As I'm working in Berlin where there're a lot of immigrants I also have experience in teaching in so called "welcome classes" (kids from foreign countries without knowledge of the german language).
    I lived in Spain for a year where I was teaching german and english for kids and adults.
    So I'm happy to give lessons in my mothertongue or english or primary school subjects.
    As I grew up in the countryside I was always helping my parents with garden work, planting, harvesting and weeding. In 2012 I travelled to a couple of countries participating on the programme wwoofing (organic farming). This way I could gain experiences in organic farming. The idea really catched me and it changed my lifestyle to a more sustainable and ecological.
    My lifestyle has not only changed in the sense of food. I also make my own cosmetics using nautral ressources and I'm happy to share this knowledge.
    I like cooking and I always try new recipes.
    In the shared flats I've lived in I always was the "maid-of-all-work" for craft issues like screwing, thrilling, painting... but also stuff like sewing on buttons, cutting hair or drying tears or whatever need there was.

  • Languages spoken

    german, english, spanish, basic french and italian

  • Age

    31

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

farming in Canada 2012
Weeding time in malaysia

Feedback