Christian & Emma

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/01/2018 - 31/12/2018

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    We met 12 years ago whilst studying at the University of Plymouth, Emma studying Building Surveying, Christian studying Architecture. We fell in love with the south-west of England for its beautiful scenery, outdoor lifestyle and friendly atmosphere and have lived and worked there ever since. Emma enjoys looking after animals, cooking, kayaking, jewellery-making, tending a garden and growing organic vegetables. Christian enjoys cycling, walking, woodworking and drumming. We try to be as self-sufficient as possible making the most of the resources we have - the most valuable being our time and energy - so we are rarely idle and always enjoy a fulfilling project. Emma works for a charity maintaining and improving heritage buildings, Christian co-owns an architectural design and make practice, specialising in residential architecture and furniture making. We have both worked in restaurants and coffee shops and have always enjoyed these experiences, working hard as part of a team and making sure customers have a great experience. Before arriving in Canada we had just finished majorly renovating our own home in Devon, doing all of the work ourselves, and we're enjoying a long break from our careers and busy lifestyle to explore a beautiful part of the world, meet interesting people and develop new skills. Since arriving in Canada we have been blessed with the most amazing Workaway experiences and made close connections with all of our lovely hosts. From construction work, looking after gardens, home improvements, helping at a permaculture farm we have loved the variety of work we have done so far.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Problem solving; house repairs and maintenance; construction in timber, concrete, masonry, natural materials; animal care; gardening and vegetable growing; self-motivated working; cooking and baking; simple car mechanics and servicing.

  • Languages spoken

    English, basic French, basic German

  • Age

    32 & 33

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Emma is Pescatarian

Photos

Feedback