Alexandre

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/09/2018 - 29/04/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi there!
    I am taking a year off to travel before going back to school to do a Master's degree. I am currently in Mexico and would like to do a workaway here or in Guatemala. I am on Workaway because it will allow me "settle down" for a while and appreciate a location and its people.

    I am an hard-working realist optimist and I get along with people very easily. I have met so many nice people while traveling that It gives me hope for the future. Despite all our problems, humans are wired in for cooperation and sharing.
    Also, I am on Couchsurfng. You can check my profile and references here: https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/alexandrest-onge-perron

    I love swimming, reading, playing Volleyball, chatting with people and discovering new cultures and perspectives.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I learn fast, which is an important skill to have when developing your other skills. I am also recognized for my leadership and strong personal judgement. I have a lot of experience with communications and marketing campaign and I am very skilled with different marketing tools including Facebook ads, Twitter, direct mail and mass email server (Mailchimp and Madmimi). I am good with coordination of projects. I also worked as a security agent in music festivals.

    I have experience in hostel management. In 2014 I worked in a hostel for 2 months in Guatemala City. I was the first and only foreigner working there as this hostel had just been open for a few months. My main job was making sure the guests had a good time so that they would write great reviews or stay longer in a city that most saw as a layover before more touristic parts of the country. I was successful at enhancing our guests' experience and making them love a city they were often told was inhospitable and dangerous. I organized tours around the old city, escorted people to the ATM and shops, gave them tours of the markets, brought them to different bars and clubs and even took the initiative to partner with a local Lucha Libre place to bring foreigners. Many guests stayed longer than expected and we had a lot of positive reviews during my time there. I also helped with the reception and was in charge of the hostel management for a few days when the owner was out of the city. It was a great experience that taught me a lot and I hope to be able to find something similar eventually. The owner and manager of the hostel took the time to write me an official letter of reference which I can send you by email.

    I also worked as I Teaching assistant at my university and would love to have the opportunity to teach English or French, all while improving my Spanish.

  • Languages spoken

    French, English, Spanish

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Helping a friend move into her new home
Bringing a group of travellers from the Hostel to see Lucha Libre
In the back of a truck in Cuba
Making of a campaign video for high-profile French politician Cecile Duflot.
Speaking at the youth camp of the Quebec Worker Federation (FTQ)
With my Couchsurfing host Patrick from Alabama
In the Bayou

Feedback