Dwight & Alana

From: Canada & United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2017 - 31/07/2017

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    *️️Summer 2017 Update*️️

    Hi. We are Dwight and Alana. We have been professional workawayers :) since July 1, 2016, and we love being a part of the Workaway community. We are both university-educated and workaway educated!

    Dwight has a masters degree in civil engineering (specializing in transportation not construction) and Alana has a PhD in psychology. We have taken a break from the corporate world for a year so far. We have since traveled around British Columbia and recently completed a 4-month trip of Southeast Asia.

    As workawayers last Summer 2016, we pruned grape vines, thinned apple trees, tilled soil, weeded, excavated, helped build a retaining wall and greenhouse, picked blueberries, peeled and bagged garlic for sale, babysat, housecleaned, and cleaned cabins, hosted breakfasts, and checked-in guests.... and any other little tasks required by our hosts.

    We really love life, love the outdoors, we laugh a lot, are very sociable and have strong work ethics. Our fun activities are hiking, sailing, biking, jogging, P90X, yoga (lots of it), cooking, reading, socializing, etc. We have lots of energy, and would love to learn and try new things!

    We are available for Workawyay in Summer 2017.

    Alana is pretty versatile. She is strong and fit, great outdoors around the garden/farm (excellent at weeding... she really goes at the roots!), and she is comfortable in the home and kitchen. She is also excellent with kids; they are attracted to her because she's really just a big kid... although she says it's because she has a sign on her forehead that reads "talk to me", that only kids can see! She has a kind personality, does show-and-tell very well, "make-believe" games, teaches lessons, crafts, reads to children with lots of character, etc. She previously taught at a University in Washington DC and connected easily with her students.

    Me (Dwight) - I'm a farmboy. I grew up on a livestock farm and operated a family-owned community grocery store. I worked alongside my dad and brothers rearing and milking dairy cattle and beef cattle, riding horses to herd cows, rotating cows from pasture to pasture, growing pigs, and driving a Massey Ferguson tractor. At our small grocery store I inventoried, ordered and parceled out stock including produce, flour, rice, sugar, breads, cosmetic items, etc. I'm now a transportation engineer (one of the 5 sub-disciplines of civil engineering).

    We are both adept at everyday computer essential tools just in case anyone needs help in that department.

    We are now looking forward to traveling, meeting some great people, learning new skills, helping our hosts, enjoying tonnes of laughs, and working to see the true fruits of our labor.

    Hopefully we will meet you soon. Cheers!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists

  • What skills do you have?

    Farming

    Managing a small grocery store, gas station and hardware.

    Rearing dairy and beef cattle - feeding, changing pastures, medicating, milking by hand, etc.

    Animal care

    Gardening

    Babysitting/childcare (excellent at this :))

    Cooking (excellent at this as well :))

    Teaching children (excellent)

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    2 & 2

  • What else ...

    We are very healthy and vibrant; eating reasonably clean and exercising a lot.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

A Rainbow 24 sailboat on which we learned the basics of sailing. Ahoy!
Taking a turn at the helm on a sailing tour in Summer 2015 for Dwight's birthday.
Christmas 2015 on the island of Tobago. Check out how great that water is looking. An awesome laid-back place for a winter break.
Hugging a Sequioa tree in Yosemite National Park. We fell in love with these trees and Yosemite!
Learning to ski in London, Canada. It was so much fun. In the end we thought we could handle the real mountain.
Hiking in Sugarloaf Mountain, Maryland; one of our favorite hikes. Hiked 9 miles that day :)
Hiking Harpers Ferry's Maryland Heights trail with friends.
Harpers Ferry National Park in West Virginia after a 62 mile bike ride from Washington DC. Mischievious Alana squeezing Dwight's sore legs.
Moraine Lake in Banff National Park, British Columbia, Canada. Quite spectacular!

Feedback