William & Terri

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Brazil, Chile

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2017 - 03/03/2017

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi our names are Will and Terri. Our Journey began 6 years ago when we decided to leave our family and friends in New Zealand and set off half the way around the world. We landed in London and slowly built a new life with new friends. Terri worked for Immigration NZ and I worked as a head barista in central London making beautifully crafted coffee.

    Over the past 5 years both Terri and I have gained a deeper understanding of ourselves through the experiences we have had and have come to realise that the systems in which we live and support are not sustainable, we have both made a conscious decision to became as aware as possible of how our actions affect us, the people around us and our planet, one of the first steps we took was deciding to not support the meat industry and the suffering of animals, I have been a vegetarian for 5 years and Terri occasionally eats meat. We both pride ourselves in the food we cook and are interested in learning new ways of preparing fresh vegetarian food.

    Terri and I are on a mission to learn as much as possible about how to live sustainably, grow our own food, build our own home and not have to depend on any one else. We want to use this opportunity that we have available to gain knowledge and experience through helping like-minded people and communities on their path to a sustainable future and sharing our love and passion for a better future.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Terri and I have been travelling for the last 7 months through Canada, USA, Central America and now South America. We have worked in hospitality and administrative roles whilst we were living in London. We have volunteered around Europe and have gained some basic gardening and building skills. We are both highly motivated to learn about gardening, alternative building techniques and any other skills that will allow us to create a sustainable life of our own. We learn fast and enjoy hard rewarding work. Our spanish is limited.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    3 & 3

  • Nationality

    New Zealand

  • What else ...

    Terri and I have been living in London for the last 6 years and have made the decision to move back to New zealand so that we can eventualy by some land and create a sustainable way of life for ourselves and our family. We are looking to gain more knowledge and skills from people who have already began this jouney and look forward to meeting like minded people.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback