Ariel & Flor

From: Argentina & Ecuador

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Hong Kong

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/12/2018 - 27/01/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Flor is a professional musician, and a very talented one indeed. She plays in multiple orchestras, and she also works as a teacher. She teaches viola and violin privately, and teaches Music at a couple of primary schools too. She is amazing with kids: my nephews and nieces love her!
    She is a wonderful football player, and she loves animals, flowers, the sea, yoga, qigong, and meditation.
    Although we have different accents, Spanish is our native language. She’s from Ecuador, and I am from Argentina.
    Her level of English is quite high (at least upper-intermediate): her listening-comprehension and speaking skills are outstanding. Her accent is probably more American than mine because she used to visit relatives in New York.
    She also speaks German because she did a degree in business administration, at a business school where German was used throughout their programs.
    I am an English teacher, but I don’t work at public schools. Although I’ve taught as a teaching assistant at university level, and I’ve prepared children for international exams, I work for a private institute: most of my students are from international companies. Since I studied Spanish/English translation, I also have vast experience in teaching Spanish. In fact, a few years ago I used to teach more Spanish than English at another institute, which specialized in Spanish classes for foreigners. I’d love to teach more Spanish, but teaching English in-company is much better business in South America.
    When I speak in English my accent is a little difficult to identify: I went to a boarding school in South Africa (exchange program); I studied translation at a university in Argentina, where Phonetics and Phonology were mostly British; and most of the cultural products I consume are American.
    I studied French at secondary school, and completed the level 6 of the Alliance Française.
    I did a university exchange program in Germany, where apart from subjects in German, I took Composition (academic writing in English), and English Linguistics.
    As regards Chinese, 2 years ago I took my first Mandarin course.This year I sat for the HSK3 exam, and now I read texts, and listen to the radio every day. I am currently teaching Flor some basics, but I must admit that my listening-comprehension and speaking skills are very poor… and that’s exactly what I need to work on.
    I think this coming trip to China will change our lives forever. We’re so excited about it, that we just can’t wait to be there!!!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Languages (teaching and translating), sports, martial arts, music, cooking, gardening.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish (Native Language); English (Advanced); German (C1); French (L6 - AF); Chinese (HSK3).

  • Age

    36 & 33

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, we don't.

Feedback