Deborah & Steve

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Croatia, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Monaco, Montenegro, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/10/2017 - 04/11/2018


  • Description

    Hi Everyone,

    *️Currently fully booked for workaways in 2017*️

    We are a middle aged couple who are just in the process of jumping out of the rat race to live our dreams of travelling the world! Scary as it is, going from the security of a job to a whole new world of challenging ourselves to all sorts of new experiences is the most exciting thing ever! Having visited many countries and stayed in local family run hotels, living in eco lodges and spending many days taking photos and watching wildlife, we really believe that it is time to give ourselves over to support those around the world who are working to create a world that everyone can share and teach each other new skills. We have 2 daughters and have supported them in traveling and working abroad now it's our turn :)
    We are a fun, happy, young at heart couple that have worked together for many years and are true sole mates. We are trustworthy, very self-motivated and get on well with everyone of all ages (and animals) and don't mind digging in to do a good days work, although we only speak English we are more than willing to try and learn your language.
    We are looking forward to seeing where life takes us and meeting many new friends along the way with many tales to tell. Although we are new to Workaways we can offer references should you need. Look forward to hearing from you soon :)
    Steve and Debs

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    We have loads of experience in all manner of things.
    Deb has previously qualified as a chef, managed restaurants, has Level 3 Advanced Certificate in Wines and Spirits, worked in high quality customer service, hosted people from around the world, coaching people, ran IT projects and project managed hotel renovations.
    Steve can also lend his hand to many tasks. He offers great customer service experience, hosts and coordinates at global events and enjoys delivering quality service. He also has a background in vehicle mechanics so has a good technical way of thinking around a challenge. He is always ready to take up the challenge of cutting back out of control plants or painting and is also good at coordinating projects and will happily help complete some DIY.
    We are both ready to learn new skills to add to our portfolio and happy to share ours with others. We are very self sufficient and happy to just get on with the tasks as required and will actively look to be proactive in our approach to the tasks required.
    We also used to own and manage our own holiday home abroad so understand the need for delivering great customer service.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    47 & 46

  • Nationality

    UK

  • What else ...

    Debs hobbies include gardening, caring for house plants and she also sews and has made everything from curtains to wedding dresses and likes being resourceful and creative, she also has a love of photography and exercising.
    Steve likes to continue his love of running and has recently completed his 3rd marathon.
    We have had pets in the past, including birds, tropical fish, cats and small mammals, upon completion of our travels our plan is to prehaps get ourselves a lovely dog :)
    We would love the opportunity to learn more about growing things, becoming self sufficient, looking after animals and getting to fully understand the B&B/self catering trade and what it takes to renovate a property to ensure our dreams are really something we would like to focus on in the future.

    Should you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

My Photo Album

Click images to enlarge

Some of our top hosts