Kayley & Rick

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to


  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/03/2018 - 31/01/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    We recently moved to Portugal and Rick is looking to spend time volunteering and making connections while Kayley teaches English around Viseu. Rick is now on a long term placement and so we’re not available in 2019.. We are a creative couple always looking to learn more about Eco building, self sufficiency, small holdings and permaculture, we are here to settle and buy land eventually. Rick is a qualified Permaculutre designer. We're interested in learning languages, cultures, and being outdoors. We have loads of enthusiasm which we're happy to trade for developing skills and getting involved in interesting projects. Between us we know our way around things as various as computers and design, various crafts, chainsaws and carpentry workshops, hugelkultures and compost toilets as well as writing, drawing, painting.... We have worked away many times before and loved it and are looking to make more friends as we continue on our journey.

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    We have loads of creativity (Kayley studied Fine Art and Rick studied Drama). We have experience in DIY, construction and gardening, organic farming and permaculture as well as food and foraging, computers and design. Kayley works as an English language teacher for anyone wanting to develop their English and Rick is a gardener with experience using chainsaws and tractors as well as planting and growing. We also come with enthusiasm and more enthusiasm... And some enthusiasm throw in for good measure.
    We're looking to build our own skills so we can set up on our own in the future so we're serious about learning... We're also quite enthusiastic... Did we mention that?

  • Languages spoken

    English, some Spanish, learning Portuguese , less German and even less French

  • Age

    32 & 36

  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    We are both keen cooks and love to make and prepare food to share with friends and guests. We are inspired to live more sustainably and self sufficiently and are always seeking knowledge and skills to help us do that.
    Do look at our feedback as we’ve been lucky enough to have had some great workaway experiences and our hosts have been kind enough to offer their opinion of our work with them.
    We're happy to chat and exchange ideas with any perspective hosts and we're quite flexible too!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Certain nuts

    • Special dietary requirements
      Kayley is a veggie