Shira & Aref

From: United States & Greece

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Greece, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/10/2017 - 21/02/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    328

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Your heart is a compass. Your brain is the map. Surrender.
    --Patrice Pike

    I am a nomad whose feet seek flight while heart yearns for home.
    I'm a global citizen who knows the whole world is home.

    I'm on a roots tour, a study journey, a peace-seeking mission. On a quest to explore how my ancestors migrated from the Middle East to Eastern Europe. I’m picking up the time-worn trail of human migrations, starting with the original human migration out of Africa, and leading up to the current mass movement of Syrians, Afghanis, Yemenis and others fleeing conflict along some of the same routes between east and west. I seek to learn more about this region of the world and to be a path for peace.

    I live to be in service to others and to the earth. My work has taken the form of teaching, cooking, civil rights lawyering, and over the past year, volunteering with families through this website and assisting refugees. I’ve worked on organic farms, harvested olives, helped build eco communities, worked in a hostel and helped build a boat. I’m a great cook and love to nurture people with food.

    As a volunteer, I’m responsible, diligent and efficient. As a housemate, I’m community-minded, kind, respectful and fun! I stay flexible and keep a positive attitude. You will find a smile on my face and genuine warmth in our interactions.

    I’ve found incredibly rich experiences volunteering this past year, and I’ve been amazed at the connections I’ve made with people. I’d like to continue the journey by meeting and working with you.
    My blog at: https://tinyurl.com/yb6r8bkx

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Teaching English, cooking, gardening/farming, writing/editing, people skills, child care, hospitality, domestic work. A can-do attitude and will help with whatever you need.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, some French, learning Arabic and Greek.

  • Age

    36 & 24

  • Nationality

    US

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Catering pic - wedding appetizers
Cup of coffee and a dog named Bean

Feedback