Rebeca

From: Brazil

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Brazil

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/01/2017 - 31/05/2017


  • Description

    I was born in Curitiba, Brazil and moved to the United States when I was a baby. I grew up in Fresno, California. I studied at Tufts University in Boston, MA. I spent my third year of college studying abroad-- in Accra, Ghana and in Hong Kong. I learned so much about myself and the world, and I became hooked on the freedom and adrenaline I felt while traveling independently. After receiving a Bachelor’s degree in Peace and Justice Studies, I decided to return to Brazil to spend time with my family and get to know the country. I am currently teaching English at a private course in Recife, PE.

    I am a free spirit, an adventurer, an open soul. I trust my gut and follow my heart. I believe in the good in people but also that we live in a very, very messed up world. My dream is to be happy and make others happy. I want to impact communities through combining the arts and education and teach youth to think critically about oppression, power, identity, and social constructs. Among my many interests, my top passions are dancing, nature, theater, social justice, education, traveling, and food. I thrive off of meeting strangers, jumping into waterfalls, and being different. My life motto is “you do you!”

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I love to teach. Anything I know I am willing to share with others. I also love to learn. I am a fast learner, and have the mindset that I can learn to do anything!

    Areas I can teach:
    - English, Portuguese for learners, Spanish for learners
    - Dance: salsa, bachata, hip hop, free movement, Zumba
    - Acting, musical theater
    - I have led workshops on diversity, conflict resolution, social justice issues

    I have worked as a Director for a YMCA youth camp in the mountains of California. I am First Aid, CPR and Life Guard certified by the Red Cross. I love working with children and in the outdoors. I am comfortable leading hikes, teaching others how to canoe, kayak, swim, and play many games!

    I love to cook all types of food. I have only kept simple gardens, but I would love to learn more about gardening, organic farming, and taking care of livestock. I love animals.

    I have experience with working maintenance on a campsite, and can clean and fix many things. I don't know how to build a house, but I know I can help and can learn to do what is needed! I know how to use power tools, I can do heavy lifting, painting-- I am the type of person who will do whatever needs to be done. I am very resourceful and practical.

    I can help with computer needs! I have a basic knowledge of website design and programming. I currently run my own blog and social media accounts. I write and take photos about traveling.

    I am a very friendly and open person, and I love meeting people from all backgrounds. To me, it doesn't matter where you're from, what language you speak or how much money you have, it matters what you have in your heart. I love helping people, giving advice, and making others feel comfortable.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Portuguese, Spanish

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    American, Brazilian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

My Photo Album

Feedback