Pelle & Christina

From: Sweden

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/03/2019 - 07/09/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We are a family of four Swedes - mum Christina, our two girls Harriet (6) and Kerstin (8) and myself, dad Pelle. After having lived in Stockholm for the first few years of the childrens' lives, we decided that a more quiet life in the country would suit us better, so in 2015 we moved to live on a farm (no longer in operation) that has been in my (Pelle’s) family for several generations.
    Being experienced hosts ourselves at our home here in the North of Sweden, we believe that we have gained a solid understanding of what is expected of a workawayer. We have hosted both through the Workaway website and played host (both long and short term) to tenants and workers from around the globe - all of whom, we are pleased to say, would happily provide a reference or feedback if required for verification purposes.
    Both Harriet and Kerstin have been exposed to a large amount of English - through au pairs and their previous attendance at a bilingual nursery during our time living in Stockholm. Our intention is to maintain their fluency and introduce them to the amazing varieties of English-speaking culture(s), while learning a thing or two ourselves about life in the UK or Ireland, about tasks that may be new to us, etc.
    Although our girls are excellent company, we realise that, practically speaking, two young children may not be the most valuable team members; that is why we are completely open to devising some sort of working compromise - perhaps with extended working hours from Christina and myself. Any suggestions when discussing hours are very welcome.

    For further info, see our host profile:
    https://www.workaway.info/886194311453-en.html

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Life on our own farm has provided us with diverse practical skills and a great deal of patience
    Genuine love of children and a keen interest in their development, in Pelle’s case also professional pedagogical skills
    Cooking ability

  • Languages spoken

    Swedish, English, some Italian and German

  • Age

    48 & 45

  • Nationality

    Swedish

  • What else ...

    We are among other things warm-hearted, reliable, quick to reply to e-mails coffee fiends.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Pelle: apples, cherries and some nuts

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback