Gabriel

From: Colombia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/08/2017 - 20/07/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    379

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hola todos!
    I'm an active and energic french guy currently living in Colombia! Even if i grew up in the south of France, in a quite lazy part on the coast, my family gave me an education focused on activities. I can be a good company for some talking, but for me the best way to know more about other people and yourself, is acting.
    My main formation is about theatre, sing and dance, but in order to have enough money to live, i had to learn many others professions. Further than actor and dancing teacher, I worked as mountain guide, cook, english and french teacher, and even a little in beer crafting. I'm really curious about everything, so learning new skills is always a pleasure.

    Right now i live in Medellin. I came here in order to take one year of work in an other country, where i can travel and learn the language. I arrived with no spanish at all, and after 3 month i think (and hope), that i got good basics.
    Here i'm working as English and French teacher, and also as guide for other foreigners. I got a special visa for Colombia, so i can stay here one year and i can work (got a cedula extranjera).

    One year ago i made something a bit crazy that changed me a lot. I traveled from Bangkok to Bangkok by bycicle, passing by Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia. 5000km in 3 month, alone with my bike, tent, sleeping and cooking stuff. No map and camping all the time. It was a really tough experience, but also the biggest freedom feeling i had in my life. Further more than giving me a really good physical condition, it also gave me a strong faith in the human power. That when you really want something, and that you got nobody and nothing to help you, you can get it by yourself. It also made me really stubborn. Even if i can be a bit left handed sometimes when i start something new, i will never give up and do everything i can to learn it.

    If i had to say what i'm expecting from Workaway, i would say learning and sharing new skills, culture, and learning how to live in new and really different places.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    -Theatre acting and teaching
    -Salsa dancing and teaching
    -Singing and sing teaching
    -English and French teaching
    -Cooking
    -Car and motorbike driving (any kind of motorbike (got french and international license for both))
    -Beer crafting
    -Mountain guiding
    -Sailing
    -First help
    -Good biking, swimming and running skills
    -Informatic
    -Hosting (did a lot of couchsurfing as host, here is my profile: https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/geet_liubbarov)
    -A lot of endurance ;)
    -Skiing (really useful in Colombia..)

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French, Italian

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    FRANCE

  • What else ...

    I got a cedula extranjera for Colombia, valuable until may 2018.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

My Photo Album

Always ready for new experiment!
My partners in the restaurant "La Caravelle", on the coast of France, where i work as a cook for summer season.
My motorbike, a Yamaha MT-09, my only true love ;)
Bycicle trip in south east Asia: 100% Freedom!
Special guest in some TV show... As usual ;)
Volunteering in a farm somewhere lost in Myanmar

Feedback