Noah

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/08/2017 - 30/08/2017


  • Description

    Hi! I'm Noah, and am from the United States. I grew up in Columbus, Ohio and now live in the countryside of Vermont. I've done workaway a lot over the past several years and love to learn about different lifestyles and locations, especially the natural surroundings. Learning new skills is a priority for me, and I'm constantly trying to expand my knowledge. I especially enjoy working with plants and animals. I've found that being able to volunteer my time and make a difference is a very fulfilling way to travel.
    My major interests right now are ecology and conservation, and I hope to someday work in field biology. I've volunteered at local nature parks and have been involved with some different conservation organizations. I try to stay pretty involved in activism where I live. I've kept bees before, and have done farm work. Being in Vermont, I've also been learning about forestry and spent this past winter making maple syrup.
    Some of my hobbies include biking, reading, writing, drumming, and I practice Taekwondo, which I have a black belt in.
    I have some teaching experience from regularly teaching the younger belts in my Taekwondo class.
    I love music, songs, poetry, stories, and if you have any to share I'd love to hear them. I've played djembe for a few years and am always looking for new drum patterns. I listen to all kinds of music but have a large interest in folk and world music.
    I study a lot of history and folklore and medieval/renaissance stuff.

    I've done quite a bit of traveling through the U.S., and have travelled to Ecuador and Costa Rica. I do a lot of long distance backpacking, and a couple years ago I hiked the Appalachian Trail for two months. I hiked another section last year and have done winter backpacking in Vermont. It really develops an appreciation for parts of the rural U.S. There's nothing like hitchhiking in the back of a pickup through the countryside of Virginia.
    I did a workaway at a nonprofit ranch in the Northern California mountains for 5 weeks, and learned a lot about living and working with people from different cultures and adapting to new situations.
    I did a series of workaways in southern Florida last summer, repairing a sailboat in the Florida Keys and then working at a small sailing school and resort in Key Largo. I travelled north and volunteered at a hostel for a bit before joining the crew of an activist theatre ship for a month and a half and sailing up to St. Petersburg. This summer I sailed from Hawaii to California on a 70' racing sloop. I'm hoping to do more work on boats and learn more about sailing and boat maintenance in the future.
    I've volunteered on a trail crew in the Smoky Mountains and spent some time backpacking around the beautiful Southern Appalachians. I'm interested in sharing the natural history of Ohio, Vermont, or the Appalachians and hearing about the nature in your area.
    I used workaway at a hostel in Quito, Ecuador this summer and at a small campsite in the Andes, where I helped build an insectarium and botanical garden.
    I now live and work at a small farm college in Vermont where I study ecology and various outdoor skills. I'm a certified Wilderness First Responder and have CPR training.
    I look forward to meeting you!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Beekeeping
    I like to cook
    Martial arts
    Farm work
    Forestry work/Axe/Saw use
    Some sailing/boat maintenance
    Wilderness skills(in North America)
    Drumming
    Natural history and research skills

  • Languages spoken

    English and basic Spanish

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    Thanks for taking the time to read my profile!

    "What is life? It is the flash of a firefly in the night. It is the breath of a buffalo in the winter time. It is the little shadow which runs across the grass and loses itself in the sunset."
    -Crowfoot, Blackfoot warrior and spokesman

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

My Photo Album

Feedback