Nicola

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India, Nepal, Sri Lanka

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/04/2018 - 24/02/2020

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    I quit my job in April 2017 to go travelling in Latin America. I am from England and have always wanted to travel to this side of the world and to learn the language and local cultures.
    I started my journey in Mexico and travelled down Central America and Colombia, Ecuador and Peru in South America.

    I have now changed direction and started my journey in India!

    I am learning Spanish. I practice yoga, meditation and eat a vegan diet. I love good food and cooking! I like all forms of exercise, especially being out riding a bicycle! And love walking and hiking and feel the best being out in nature.
    I consider myself as spiritual rather than religious and I am on a continuous path of self development. I pracitce some Ayurvedic systems and would love to delve deeper into it.

    I am interested in medicinal plants and holistic health.

    I am really interested in eco/permaculture/sustainability projects. I am interested in anything organic and try to source all of my food/products organically and locally.

    I was a business manager in a primary school for the last 10 years and I am hoping to be inspired to do something totally different while I'm on my journey - so would love to get as much experience/be exposed to as many things as possible.

    I am a really hard worker and would love the opportunity to get these experiences!

    I love a good/deep conversation and to meet new people from around the world and to be exposed to local cultures.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Volunteering skills I have gained; chocolate making, prepping in a vegan restaurant, working in a vegan kitchen hosting yoga teacher training; having responsibility for the evening meal plan and cooking for a group of 15, farm skills such as planting garden beds and trees, weeding, mulching, and companion planting.

    Before travelling I was a Business Manager for 10 years, my professional skills are; finance, health and safety, administration, organisation, taking care of premises and managing personnel.
    I am used to using my own initiative and managing my own time.
    I get on with everyone and I am very adaptable.
    I am a perfectionist when it comes to whatever I am doing, I like things to be just right, I have high standards, and I have a good eye for detail.
    I have lived on my own for 10 years And I am self sufficient so can put my hand to general maintenance and have the ability to paint etc.
    I work fast and like to put everything I have into what I am doing.

  • Languages spoken

    English, learning Spanish

  • Age

    42

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I am a very fast learner and hard worker. If I volunteer for you I would like you to benefit from me being with you. For me it is the same as having a paid job. I am a very loyal and trustworthy person.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Feedback