Remon & Minna

From: Switzerland & Estonia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Georgia, Greece, Iran, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2018 - 31/07/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    747

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    We are Minna and Remon, an Estonian-Swiss couple who share an endless passion for travel, languages, culture and new experiences. We met by a lucky chance back in 2016 and have since travelled to numerous countries together. Among many other things that connect us, the common desire to see as much of the world as possible is probably the strongest. We're both experienced travellers - delayed flights, lost baggages, cancelled accommodations and other inconveniences are highly unlikely to push us off the rails.

    Starting from September 2018, life has provided us both with a chance to dedicate a whole year to gaining new experiences from abroad. Thanks to our previous travels, we know that we prefer to stay with local people. This is why we thought Workaway would be the perfect tool through which we can plan our next steps. We are intrigued about the idea of offering our skills and help in exchange for a place to sleep and something to eat.

    So far we have done three wonderful Workaways. During the first Workaway we cleared, marked and recorded hiking trails in the Tara National Park in West Serbia. We also saw first-hand what it takes to manage a (hiking) hostel. During our second Workaway we stayed with a couple in a village in East Serbia and helped them with many tasks around the house and garden. The tasks included cutting wood, taking care of animals (dogs, cats, chicken), making and packaging various bee products, collecting nuts, berries and mushrooms, gardening, cleaning, organising etc. For our third and most recent volunteering experience we helped with olive picking in Western Greece. In addition to picking we also helped out with household chores and animal care (dogs, cats, goats, chicken). We've enjoyed all of our Workaways very much and are excited for future experiences.

    Back in Switzerland most recently Remon was a primary school teacher in an international school. He taught German, math, arts, sports and other subjects to kids with international and very differing backgrounds. During his studies, he also worked in a school for kids with special needs and taught English to Syrian refugees in Jordan. Before he decided to become a teacher, Remon was qualified​ in the financial sector and worked seven years for an insurance company. He has a big passion for sports and the outdoors - he adores spending time outside, especially when there's any type of physical activity included.

    Minna has a degree in Social Anthropology, meaning that she is trained to understand people and cultures with all their differences and specialties. Anthropology is something she is very passionate about - the 3,5 years spent in univerisities both in Tallinn and Edinburgh taught her extremely valuable lessons about understanding the world around us. Parallely with her studies she has worked as a gymnastics coach for young girls and in many areas of the hospitality industry - as a retail assistant, waitress, hostess and bartender. She also has a soft spot for languages and animals.

    We work well as a team, bringing out each others best sides, but also individually with our personal set of skills. In addition to any help you'll need, we can promise you many interesting travel stories. We like to think we're good fun. Also - we'll probably win your local pub quiz!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    When it comes to skills we could offer our Workaway hosts, there are some we were born with, some we have acquired in school and some that life itself has taught us. The most important of our "skills" is definitely the will to learn and try anything new. Even more than the list of specific skills we have, we want potential hosts to know that we are willing to learn anything (and do so quickly) so that no task will be left undone. For us, part of the magic of Workaway lies in the possibility to acquire new skills in addition to putting the ones we already have, to use.

    We do realise, however, that in certain situations specific knowledge can be very useful. With her degree in Social Anthropology, Minna feels comfortable with any area of work that includes other humans, communication or culture. She is a licenced gymnastics coach which means she has experience in organising events for kids, teaching and looking after them. She speaks five languages which could come in handy when help is needed with language learning, translating, grammar checking etc. Minna adores animals (just ask Remon - he'll tell you about all the times we've had to stop to pet street cats or take photos of cows) so any work that involves animals would not only suit her but would also make her incredibly happy. She is good at jobs that require patience, for example picking berries or fruits, painting, organising, cleaning etc. Last but not least, she can make you a killer Margarita (or a Mojito.. or a Cosmopolitan).

    Remon's skills are to be found in a pretty wide range. He always liked to do physical work i.e. help his parents in the garden or make or repair things himself and therefore used his fathers atelier, Youtube tutorials or his own creativity. Thanks to his first apprenticeship and work experience, he has deeper knowledge about the financial market, especially insurances, and he is confident with all kinds of office and administration jobs. With his latest degree for teaching primary school he would be happy to help out with any kind of training or education. He loves to work closely with other people.

  • Languages spoken

    Remon speaks German, English, Dutch, French and tries Spanish. Minna speaks Estonian and English fluently, French and Portuguese on a mediocre level, and can get by with Russian.

  • Age

    28 & 24

  • Nationality

    Swiss/Estonian

  • What else ...

    We are open minded, flexible and curious about life. So nothing we wouldn't want to talk about.
    Please ask us anything! We also fully understand that a Workaway relationship is built strongly on mutual trust. We promise to do everything in our power to justify the trust put into us by hosts and hopefully we'll receive the same.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback