Arthur & Merle

From: France & Estonia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    09/02/2017 - 09/08/2017


  • Description

    Once upon a time there was a car sharing from France to Germany, where Merle and Arthur first met. Both travellers, European souls and citizens of the world, they kept in contact during a year and met up again on a night of July when Merle was heading to Belgium and made a stop in Paris. At that moment started a beautiful relationship that voyaged already across more than 10 countries and 15 months.

    While Merle finished her studies of photography in England and moved to Australia for a little year, Arthur finished his studies in production of artistic and cultural projects in France. Both of them are driven by a strong feeling of being part of an extraordinary adventure called life and want to discover an extraordinary planet called Earth. And naturally, after travelling together through Slovenia, Croatia, Serbia, France, Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Germany, England, Belgium and Netherlands (not in one trip ^^), they now decided to explore as many or even more countries in one single trip, from Chile to Mexico, from February to August.

    This new journey will take them to many lands, to many people (maybe you !) and surely to unforgettable experiences and everlasting connections with South America.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Salut! My name is Arthur, I am french and I just finished my studies in cultural field and I am especially interested in music and graphics arts, discovering cultures and positive acculturation. I lived in Czech Republic and Germany and travelled a lot around Europe since I am old enough to do it ! I am a city kid and wants to do more with my hands and for the nature that I got to before. I am seeking to know more about artisanal and earthwork jobs. I've been working in hospitality and as a caretaker with mentally disabled people and have experience in gardening, building, painting and administrative works.

    Tere! My name is Merle. I am a photographer who recently finished her studies in fine arts in UK. I also studied in Denmark and Portugal for a diversity in academic, cultural and language exchange experience. I have a strong experience in hospitality field working in bars, restaurants, hostels and cafes. During the studies I committed myself also in charity work mainly focused on working with children in need. In addition I have a solid basic experience in gardening, farming, woodwork and construction work (refurbishing a house and a flat) as I have grown up in the country side of Estonia.

  • Languages spoken

    French(Arthur), Estonian(Merle), English(Both), Spanish(Both learning hard), German(Arthur)

  • Age

    24 & 26

  • Nationality

    French and Estonian

  • What else ...

    We both believe that compassion, empathy and sensitivity are the key elements that drive travellers like us to go and make a change. People are passionate about helping and opening themselves to those out of their circle, they want to participate as global citizens. We find it magnificent to feel part of communities without even speaking the same language, growing up and living in different cultures, societies, different economic realities, possibilities, having unique goals. We feel responsible, we want to be involved and we want to prove that every action that we take matters. Volunteering is for us a perfect way to get inspired, to discover initiatives, ways of "working" together that we could afterwards recreate, relive somewhere else.

    What we want to leave behind is a footprint of communal progress and the knowledge we have been given where we grew up in and travelled to.

    What we wish to take with us is the exchange of those ideas, goals and inspirations that we come to share. It can be in all sorts of different mediums such as photography, music and writings as well as deeply rooted in ourselves.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are vegetarian

Photos


My Photo Album


Feedback