Marsha

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bangladesh, France, India, Russia, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/10/2017 - 03/01/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    949


  • Description

    Hi I’m Marsha! A super energetic, easy-going, brave and open-minded human being.

    I have been traveling for 2 years already!

    I have been backpacking alone since I left home at 18 years old. In this period, I have worked and traveled in Australia for 9 months, explored South East Asia for 7 months, volunteered in construction in Nepal for 2 months. Then I spent 3 months hitchhiking from Iran to Turkey. I then spent 5 months in Greece, workawaying and volunteering for the refugees. Now, I have hitchhiked from Greece to France! I have a flight from Nice to London on the 15th. I'd love to stay in London for 2 to 3 weeks. I am really crazy about meeting new people and making new experiences. I never get tired of it. I could just keep going and going forever as long as my budget allows. I have always had too much energy and I have found a great way to spend it. I love meeting new people, enjoying nature and learning new cultures.

    My up bringing in Hong Kong made me a responsible, diligent, well mannered and hard working person. I understand that life isn't easy and joy only comes after hard work. I always try my best in everything. I'm eager to learn and I always put a lot of effort and care into what I do.

    My Couchsurfing profile has a lot of references: www.couchsurfing.com/people/marshalui


    Things I'm proud of:
    I have a good judgement of right and wrong, which I realized is really a gift that I really appreciate.
    Learnt the harsh and unthinkable realities of life under war
    hitchhiking everywhere I go
    hitchhiking across the middle east and Europe!
    Road-tripped the Kimberleys of Australia. (The wildest place on earth)
    sailed across the sea from Lombok to Flores
    Volunteered in Nepal for 2 months, building a school in a village.
    House building in Cambodia
    Visited and brought supplies to a school in Cambodia
    Volunteered to teach English at a school in ZhaoQing China
    Visited and brought supplies to an orphanage in India
    Worked in the organizing commitee of the 24 Hour Race in 2014 (A student led charity race that involved 3 cities in 3 countries! My job was in Finance and Sponsorships)
    Becoming a Community Service Prefect at school, I was responsible for fundraising at least 1250USD a month
    Started the Y.E.S. club (community services) at school
    Won the Google Startup Weekend Hong Kong in 2014
    Earnt the Silver Award of Hong Kong's Award for Young People in 2014

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️ CERTIFICATIONS AND AWARDS *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️

    - SSI open water scuba diving certificate.
    - Basic first aid course completion
    - the Silver Award of the Hong Kong Award for Young People in 2014 (http://www.ayp.org.hk)
    - 2014's Google Startup Weekend Hong Kong (I was a team leader)

    *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️ SKILLS *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️

    - Music: Alto Saxophone, Piano, Chinese Zither, Recorder, Harmonica

    - Photography: Landscape, travel, night, underwater (I own a waterproof housing. My camera is the Canon G7X. It's not a DSLR)

    - Computer: Wordpress, Photoshop, Video Editing (Adobe Premier Pro), InDesign (Graphic design), Illustrator (design), Google Drive, Microsoft, Adobe. (My high school taught with laptops, without textbooks)

    - Cooking : My cooking is standard. I love experimenting with new recipes. I can cook western, Chinese, Cantonese, Thai, Korean, Malaysian and Japanese food

    *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️ WORK EXPERIENCE *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️

    Waitress at a reputed Japanese restaurant in Darwin, Australia for 4 months (I was trained there to maintain an extremely high standard of service. )

    Event registration at the Entrepreneurs Club Hong Kong for 14 months

    Finance and Sponsorship committee at Running to Stop the Traffik in 2014 (an international, youth-led movement. I created and sold Sponsorship packages to companies.)

    Research assistant at LKS Faculty of Medicine, The University of Hong Kong (for 2 weeks as work experience)

    Prefect at high school (I was one of the three responsible for organising monthly fundraising events.)

    Founder of the Youth Experiencing Services club at high school

    *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️ VOLUNTEERING EXPERIENCE *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️
    2 months on Lesvos Island in Greece (for refugees), I was involved in boat spotting and the emergency respond to receiving incoming refugee boats, did sorting in a warehouse, as well as working inside a refugee camp with the Humanitarian Support Agency.

    1 month housekeeping and cooking in a house with a single mom and 2 children.

    2 weeks in a scuba diving center in Greece

    2 weeks housekeeping in a house in Greece

    2 months construction work in Nepal to build a school after the earthquake

    In high school, I started a community service club, since i was 12 i volunteer regularly with various organisations in Hong Kong. Volunteering is something I love and it gives me a sense of self worth and to help those in need.

  • Languages spoken

    English (fluent), Cantonese (fluent), Mandarin (fluent). Learning German

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    Australian, British, Hong Kong

  • What else ...

    I love Jazz, pizza and sushi.
    I really love photography.
    I wear glasses (short sighted)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      All antibiotics related to Penicillin. Eating insects.

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

My Photo Album

I LOVE CAMPING
Holi 2017 in Nepal!
I LOVE HITCHHIKING (This was at Iran)
NOT at a human zoo. This was at a real village in Loikaw, Burma.
Scuba diving at Tulumben, Indonesia
I love riding motorbikes (Roadtrip in far North of Vietnam)
Meditating on clouds
I love star photography! No editing! Canon G7X: 15" F1.8 ISO800
Volunteering with All Hands for 2 months building a school in a remote village in Nepal

Feedback