Mark

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Denmark, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2018 - 14/02/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I am currently living and working in Northern Ireland, since finishing university in Dublin. The Workaway experiences I have had so far have been wonderful and have taught me so much. So I always look forward to the opportunity to travel and Workaway. Having lived in several places, including Africa, I enjoy the chance to experience different cultures and love meeting new people.

    I have always had an interest in agriculture and nature. I enjoy getting outdoors and working with my hands. I have an interest in sustainable living, and I am always keen to learn new skills that are relevant to this. From staying with Workaway hosts I realise I have still a lot more to learn! I would love to have my own homestead one day. I can help with a wide range such as farming/gardening, handyman work, cooking and cleaning and playing with kids. I count myself as someone who is friendly, adaptable, and ready to get stuck into work.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • What skills do you have?

    I have always been a keen gardener. I have experience growing fruit and vegetables such as potatoes, onions and rhubarb on my allotment over the past few years. I have put up a greenhouse in my garden a few years ago which allows me to grow tomatoes. I also kept two hens for two years before college. I regularly do other work in the garden including cutting wood, pruning and cutting hedges. I have used an electric chainsaw and hoping to get a petrol one in the future. I am currently clearing an area, using a scythe (so much better than a strimmer), on field verges near my house to plant trees.

    I also have lots of experience of working with tools fixing and putting things together. I do repairs and maintenance on my road bike, and sometimes friends' bikes, such as ball bearing replacement. My next project will be to build a bamboo bike once I have all the materials.I enjoy working with my hands and trying to solve problems. I have helped my dad over the years with renovating our holiday home, and would help round the house with painting, cleaning etc. Although I have not done any building work before I would love the opportunity to do this.

    I have a keen interest in food, and I enjoy cooking for friends and family. I love new and exotic tastes. I have made things like cordial and chutney with tomatoes from my greenhouse. I used to work part time entertaining kids in character costume and supervising games. I have also done babysitting for friends. As well as enjoying the outdoors I also like to play board and card games. As well as enjoying the outdoors I also like to play board and card games.

    I have a UK driving licence.

  • Languages spoken

    English, some French

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    Irish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback