Ludovic

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Malaysia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/09/2018 - 10/10/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello!!
    My name is Ludo, I have a Master degree in translation from Belgium and a Master degree in Peace and conflict studies from the University of Kent and the University of Marburg, Germany.


    I have been travelling since I was very young with my family. Then I began travelling alone. I stayed 4 months in Ireland (for my Erasmus), 3 in Nepal, 6 in Portugal, 8 in England and 6 months in Germany, a true European guy!

    I am currently living in Malaysia. I worked as Director of an IT company for two years until August 2018. I have resigned to focus my time on social projects and social enterprise. I do have a good knowledge of Malay, but I still have a lot to learn.

    I took part in several projects as a volunteer: in Dharamsala, India, during one month, in Alicante, Spain, one month, in Belgium where I taught French to Afghan immigrants during one year. In Portugal, I did an EVS project with disabled children and adults during 6 months.

    The reason I chose to involve in such projects is because I have an insatiable need to understand the world around me. I first began to teach French to Afghans and it was an amazing experience. They helped me to be more conscious of my stereotypes and personal feelings. In Nepal, I spent 3 months in a small village in the mountains teaching English, I stayed with a lovely host family. I believe they are part of my life now.
    In summer 2015, I did an internship at the Embassy of Belgium in Kuala Lumpur. I stayed in Malaysia during three months enjoying the diversity of cultures, food, traditions etc. I also went back to Nepal during one month, after the earthquake. We helped to rebuild the house destroyed during the disaster.

    Today, my life project is quite easy: learn languages and different cultures, help underprivileged communities to develop through social enterprise, promote eco-friendly behaviours.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Since the age of 15 I have taken care of many children as a babysitter to earn extra money. I took part in many projects as a volunteer working with children: in Portugal, with disabled children (equine therapy, hydrotherapy), in Spain, with a group of children (art workshops, games, etc.), in Nepal (English teacher in a secondary school)... I am also able to take care of horses and animals in general. I have good linguistic skills as well and I'd be very happy to teach French.

    I frequently teach English in an informal school in Kuala Kubu Bharu, Selangor.

  • Languages spoken

    French, English, Malay, Spanish, Portuguese, Nepali

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    Belgium

  • What else ...

    I am very enthusiastic to stay with local people. I want to learn and share what I know with Malaysian people.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback