Lizzie & Jonathan

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/06/2018 - 13/08/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1281

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    EDIT: Only Lizzie is currently using Workaway at the moment, Jonny has flown back to England for work.

    Hello!
    We are two enthusiastic travellers who are new to workaway and very excited to start meeting hosts and other travellers!
    We are hard-working, down-to-earth & sociable and willing to help out in what ever way you may need. We do not mind what type of work we do, although we are very practical, love being outdoors and love working with all kinds of animals/people! For us, the most important part of Workaway is meeting new people, learning new skills and understanding what local life is really like. We would love to stay with hosts who have great advice on local attractions and insider top-tips on things to do.
    We have been travelling around Northern Thailand, Laos and Cambodia and will shortly be arriving in Java, but have no routes planned for future travel- if you are in need of help and think we would be a good match, please send us a message!
    Thank you,
    Lizzie and Jonny

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - COMPUTER AND IT; (we both did a lot of data analysis at uni, Jonny has experience of graphic design, we have both just finished redesigning a brochure for an Eco-Tourism company)
    - COOKING AND CLEANING; (we have both worked in luxury ski resort chalets and enjoy hosting dinner parties for friends)
    - GARDENING; (we keep our own garden well planted and pruned!)
    - CONSERVATION/ECO-PROJECTS; (Lizzie has worked on projects in Cambodia, Malaysia and Turkey, building turtle hatcheries, artificial reefs and conducted sea horse surveys!)
    - CUSTOMER SERVICE/HOSPITALITY; (we both have plenty of experience, for example in pubs and holiday resorts)
    - PET SITTING; (Jonny has 3 lovely Burmese cats and Lizzie has two emotionally demanding dogs and one very hungry cat!)
    - BICYCLE REPAIR AND MAINTAINANCE; (Jonny has recently cycled 4000 miles unsupported across America!)
    - SOCIAL MEDIA; (Jonny ran an online cycling blog and trans-American instagram account, we both use social media on a daily basis, we have recently helped to update the social media pages for an Eco-Tourism Workaway and propose a clear structure of posts for the future)
    - SCIENCE; (both have graduated with Master's Science degrees from the University of Cambridge)
    - WORKING OUTDOORS; (we both live in the British countryside and a range of experience from dry stone walling to hedge laying)
    - GEOLOGICAL FIELDWORK; (Jonny has conducted expeditions and made maps in places such as Tanzania, Iceland, Scotland and Spain)
    - SCUBA DIVING; (Lizzie is a qualified PADI Divemaster)
    - YOGA AND MEDIATION; (Lizzie has practised regularly for nearly 3 years and will soon be undertaking her 200-hours teacher qualification!)

  • Languages spoken

    English - native

  • Age

    22 & 23

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Jonny :
    Along with three friends, I recently undertook a 4000mile cycle ride from New York City to San Francisco. Packing tents and our lives up onto our bicycles, we explored mountains, plains, desserts and major cities, meeting many wonderful people along the way!
    As well as camping rough, we often used the cycle tourist website called Warmshower (essentially the cycling version of couchsurfing). Staying with these hosts along the route, sharing stories and learning about the area where they live was a highlight of the trip! During our stays we accumulated lots of very good feedback! If your interested you can check out our travel blog here: https://cambridgetransamerica.wordpress.com/blog/

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Lizzie prefers to eat vegetarian/vegan food, but is happy to eat a bit of fish/chicken if more convenient!

Photos

Enjoying mountain-top views, Courchevel France
Hiking and scrambling on the Welsh coast, Rhosilli Beach UK
Jonny on his 4000-mile cycle trip, USA
Lizzie hiking in the Lake District, UK
Hiking to natural wonders, Worm's Head UK
Exploring to frozen mountain waterfalls, Meribel France
Stand Up Paddleboarding in Mallorca, Spain
Jonny cycling the plains of America, USA

Feedback