Lisa

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Finland, Norway, Sweden, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/03/2019 - 13/10/2019

  • Badges


  • Description

    Hi

    My name is Lisa and I'm from the UK with a slightly mixed but all very localised heritage of English, Welsh and Scottish.

    I teach Academic English as a profession but am also in the second year of my MA in Environmental Humanities. I love travelling and volunteering and have been involved with various projects. I particularly love helping with animal care and have worked at numerous animal sanctuaries including in Peru, Bolivia and Portugal. I also aided an international conservation charity which involved leading environmental education seminars at Indonesian universities and schools. Other activities have included helping with outward bound activities, working on medicinal and organic gardens as well as permaculture projects and also construction with dry-stone walling and strawbale huts and saunas.

    I love to see how other people live, especially in less industrialised places and I find it beautiful to notice the similarities and differences when connecting to a wide variety of people from different walks of life. I love the natural world and can generally adapt to most places. I like good discussions and being sociable but also like spending time on my own sometimes. I am therefore good at working in groups, leading activities or working independently.

    I hope our paths cross at some point as there seem to be so many lovely people and projects on this site.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm a teacher ordinarily and am therefore pretty organised. I'm clean, tidy and like to finish jobs fully. I can also lead activities when the instructions have been clearly given. I like listening to others and so feel I am a good mediator or facilitator. In terms of practical skills, I have experience with simple construction but would like to learn more. I have worked on various gardens, as I mentioned above, and I am generally quite good with animals. I'm good at working independently but am also social.

  • Languages spoken

    English. I learned a little Spanish when in South America and wish to improve.

  • Age

    41

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I love animals and wish to learn more about their welfare needs. I am also interested in construction and renovation, possibly with an eye to my own future projects, although I'd like more experience in this. I enjoy yoga, meditation, music and adore dancing and being outdoors in nature. I can be sociable and chatty, enjoying conversation on a whole host of topics. In fact, I'd say I am interested in learning about almost anything people know about. And, if I'm not interested, then I'm interested in why you are.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      When living at home in an industrialised country, I am vegetarian though in more remote places with humane killing, I am ok with eating meat and fish.

Photos

Feedback