Ryan & Lindsey

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/01/2019 - 15/05/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    823

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello!
    We are Ryan and Lindsey. A traveling couple eager to help, grow, and learn by immersing ourselves into the culture and daily lives of people around the world. We are from the United States and though we have both taken a leave of absence from our careers for awhile; Ryan is a mechanical engineer and Lindsey is a middle school teacher, we are both passionate about the roles we have been able to play and excited to use those skills out in the world.
    We are ready to slow things down, get to know people, and learn new skills along the way. We are active and enjoy nature, we especially enjoy hiking and camping. We enjoy and appreciate good food, and would love to be part of the process from start to finish, we both enjoy cooking. We aren't afraid of hard work, and are willing to get our hands dirty. We enjoy meeting new people and learning about their experiences and hopefully making good friends.
    We are new to Workaway and are excited to begin this journey. We are open to trying any type of work, and with a little effort, practice, and patience we would like to acquire skills from each new task we take on. We are respectful and dependable quick learners.

    Our Workaways so far:

    Apricale, Italy at La Casa Rosa: Cleared brush, bramble and thorns, raked and cleaned terrace land. Excavated terrace wall to prepare new stone construction; moved rocks, used pick axes, and shoveled earth. Helped with tidying.

    Alcala La Real, Spain at Casa Valero: Cement work; mixed cement, hauled tiles, constructed tile walkways and stairs. Cleared brush using gas powered trimmer, hauled brush. Cleaned pool, cooked meals (mostly vegetarian), and helped with tidying.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Ryan: I'm a mechanical engineer by training. I enjoy working with all things technology-related. I also have experience installing and planning solar PV panels and battery systems. The company I work for specializes in energy-efficient construction, so I'm knowledgeable about ways to save energy. I'm the oldest of five kids, so housework, clean-up and childcare are things I'm also familiar with. I also have a valid driver's license in the US.

    Lindsey: I'm a licensed teacher in the United States (certified for ages 0-21). Teaching all ages, effective communication as I have taught English as a second language, cooking, crafty, adaptability, conflict resolution, time management, foreign language, planning, drivers license, cleaning/organizing, painting, and willing to learn trades and hands-on skills.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish (Conversational)

  • Age

    29 & 29

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    We are open to short or long stays, we are open to share a room or keep separate rooms at the same home.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      None

    • Special dietary requirements
      None

Photos

Feedback