Line

From: Denmark

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/07/2018 - 13/05/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I'm Line (pronounced Lina) and I'm 18 years old and from Denmark. I've taken a gap year between high school and university to explore Australia and have some incredible experiences to remember for the rest of my life!

    I was an au pair in Brisbane for half a year, working with a six-year-old girl and a four-year-old boy. I'm always happy to work with kids, see the world from their perspective and help them feel comfortable and cared for. In 2017, I was a counsellor-in-training at a summer camp in Scotland - after three summers, it's safe to say this camp is one of my favourite places in the world. I helped out with teaching performing arts, outdoor adventure and a bit of singing, three activities I enjoy doing in my spare time.

    I'm a creative person, whether I'm writing stories, practising drawing or throwing myself into a new project. As an au pair I did a lot of arts and crafts with my host kids, and when I go back to Europe and university (in Edinburgh), it will be to study a form of creative computing. The course is called "Digital media and interaction design", and it's similar to one of my majors in high school, where we designed and built creative, digitally interactive installations.

    This trip to Australia is my first big solo trip, but I've travelled a lot with my family. I was born in Germany, grew up in California, and have moved around in Denmark for the past eleven years. We did a lot of camping when I was a kid, and I still really enjoy the outdoors - especially hiking!

    Other hobbies of mine include dancing (contemporary/modern), reading, relaxing with a good movie or tv show, singing, archery and listening to music (just about any genre).

    I'm hoping to learn and experience a lot from WorkAway. I enjoy learning new things, being challenged (within limits), and coming out on the other side a better person!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Childcare: I have worked as an au pair in Brisbane for half a year, undergone training as a camp counsellor in Scotland and I have a strong relationship with my younger cousins.

    Gardening/farmwork: I've done a fair bit of weeding and have some expereince with picking and packing potatoes from another lovely WorkAway.

    Arts and crafts: I enjoy drawing, and have helped paint the inside of my house at home, as well as painted wooden installations for school projects. I'm adept with most sewing machines and can also sew by hand.

    Housework: I've cleaned at a kindergarten as well as helped around the house at home. As an au pair I did the laundry, including towels and sheets. With a recipe, I'm able to cook simple meals.

    Tourist/Volunteer work: for three years I have volunteered at a Harry Potter festival in Denmark. Each year my jobs have varied from selling food or merchandise to overseeing activities and taking care of children.

    Splitting and stacking firewood

  • Languages spoken

    English, Danish and some German

  • Age

    18

  • Nationality

    Danish

  • What else ...

    I'm traveling with public transport, but I'm keen to go as far as it'll take me.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I have sometimes had allergic reactions to dusty environments with lots of hay or animals, but never severe reactions. I have medication if needed! And I absolutely love all animals, even if they make me sneeze sometimes :)

    • Special dietary requirements
      Pescetarian (but if a meal with meat has already been prepared, I'm okay with eating it)

Photos

Feedback