Anders & Karen

From: Denmark

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/05/2018 - 28/06/2018

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    Greetings :)
    We are Anders & Karen from Denmark!
    We spent our first 5 months of 2015 WorkAway'ing in Southern France, and in the fall we were 1 month in Sweden, another month again in France and almost two months in Andalucía, Spain. In 2016 we were WorkAway'ing in California in the United States. Lastly, we were doing WorkAway over the course of a Summer in the outskirts of Copenhagen, so we have all in all more than a year's experience as WorkAway'ers!

    In all these places, we met several great hosts as well as WorkAwayers and shared countless good experiences and moments with them all. We have learned in many respects what WorkAway is about and what it takes to find the spirit that makes WorkAway what it is - a very unique way of travelling and meeting people!

    We are very flexible and experienced in helping in a great variety of tasks. Before WorkAway'ing, we worked in a school, helping disabled people from Denmark and other parts of the world. In this regard, we are always ready to face new challenges with a lot of initiative and explore the jobs given with great interest and curiousity.

    Both of us have travelled a great deal and are very easy-going, open-minded and quick to adapt to new environments. We love to meet new people and gain new experiences in life. We believe that what you give is what you get. And we can ensure that we will work with diligence, in a positive, honest and fun spirit, with a great amount of willingness, independence and reliability - and with a big smile :)

    We look forward to meeting you!

    Sincerely,
    Anders & Karen

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Together we are capable of many different tasks, both social and practical - and we are very used to live with a great number of people and making a household work. Individually, we also possess a great deal of skills:

    - Karen -
    I'm an active person and I love every kind of water sports: sailing, diving, windsurfing, winter-bathing and swimming. I have been teaching different kind of people different swimming styles and how to be comfortable with water and would love to pass on this experience.

    I'm eager to learn and love to cook healthy food and big salads.

    Currently I'm studying Urban Landscape Engineer at the Forest and Landscape College in the woods outside Copenhagen. I have a great interest in nature, permaculture, food forests and the relations between humans and nature.

    Since I'm raised in a forest home, I'm used to outdoor work, learning about self-sufficient gardening, taking care of animals and in generel being interested in creating a good and healthy environment in and around the house.
    I also like to sew and do small creative DIY projects, and since I care for the environment, I like to recycle and come up with new ideas and designs.
    I have previously worked in the service-industry as a receptionist, so communication is also one of my strengths. Besides this, I come from a big family, so I'm used to many people in the house, to share and give to people around me and to have fun, play and care for the small ones in the family :)


    - Anders -
    In general, I am a creative person with a passion for most things in life. I love music: both singing, playing or writing it. I have been a teacher in different musical disciplines (guitar, piano, singing and songwriting). Another great passion of mine is being in contact with nature, whether it is working in the garden, caring for animals or hiking in the wilderness. When I'm not outside, I love to read books, meditate, share good conversations and explore all there is to explore!
    I always have small projects and besides knowledge about basic DIY and carpentry, I am a fast learner and an eager one too! Especially when it comes to learning new languages (I speak quite a few) and meeting other people, which is also why I have studied anthropology in university. I also have a passion for voluntary work, whether it be working with children in Central America or immigrants coming to Denmark.
    I am currently studying Human Ecology, and I have been given half a year to visit different places, and I hope that this can also happen through WorkAway. I am at the moment living and working in Denmark in an ecovillage called Svanholm, which is a place for ecological farming, and I love working in the field, harvesting all the lovely vegetables and exploring the great dimensions of living in a ecovillage. Therefore I am curious to see more similar places as well!

  • Languages spoken

    Danish, English, German, understands swedish and norwegian

  • Age

    29 & 27

  • Nationality

    Danish

  • What else ...

    It is definitely worth mentioning that both of us have a great passion for environmental matters. We care about the world we are living in, and working with and not against nature has been an important for the both of us. Through Anders' studies on global environmental matters to Karen's upbringing in a forest home and current education in as an Urban Landscape Engineer, we share a close bond to the nature around us :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback