Julia

From: Brazil

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Indonesia, Israel, Morocco, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2018 - 31/01/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hey, I am a 21-year old girl born and raised in Brazil within a German family. Having spent 2 gap years traveling in South and North America and Europe before going to university, I got extremely excited about the the educational power the exposure to different contexts can have on both professional and personal development. Having often found I often found traditional education to be rather alienating and disconnected from my own reality and ambitions, I recently decided to drop out of university in order to pursue a personal project: I am currently taking my education into my own hands and designing a system to combine online theoretical learning with practical application through full-time travel and real-world experiences. Thus, I am looking for workaways that will somehow be educational and connected to the skills and understanding I want to develop.

    What else... Well, I guess we all love to travel here ;) I am passionate about anything that makes me me feel alive and growing, about meeting new people, interact with different cultures and going on adventures . I also deeply like to dedicate myself entirely to purposes I believe in – be it helping people, protecting the environment or working on projects that somehow do good for the world. When I find those, I am a motivated worker and challenge lover, sometimes an idealist. I love the fact that when transforming and putting our essence in the world out there, we simultaneously allow the worlds essence to recreate our own being on the inside.

    I have no problem with spending time on my own and actually enjoy it very much. But I am always grateful when I can be in contact with people, share experiences and philosophy about life. In general, eastern philosophy, education, art, psychology and spirituality are the topics that fascinate me the most, but there is nothing more special to me than hearing and learning about different ideias, realities, points of view, stories….

  • Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - I am a professional photographer and work with different types of photography (portraiture, food, events, sports). I graduated from a 120-hour photography course at NYFA.
    - Teaching languages: I am a TEFL certificate English Teacher (Teaching English as a Foreign Language).
    - Music and dance: I have been playing the piano for 8 years and danced ballet for 5 - could teach a little bit of musical theory or dance movements. Would love to learn a new instrument. Love love love to dance to any kind of rhythm.
    - Volunteering experience: I volunteered with kids in a Brazilian favela in a NGO (COHCRIC - Sonhar Acordado)
    - Healthy cooking: Not really a skill, but I looove cooking. Mum runs an organic and medical garden and researches a lot about health in general, so I have always liked to experiment in the kitchen and create recipes that are not only tasty but healthy as well.
    - Sports: I have always loved sports and believe I can help with tasks that ask for physical/outdoor work. Did vaulting (gymnastics on the back of a horse) for 11 years, danced ballet and love to surf, sail, go jogging and trekking/hiking.
    - Nature lover: I don’t think that is a skill, but it means it is very easy to make me happy :D just put me close to the ocean, the breeze, a forest, a big mountain or river, and I will be in good mood! Animals included!!! Horses, dogs and monkeys being the favorite ones.
    - Easy-going: I might be a bit shy at first, but I usually get over it after short time – think I can be a quiet outgoing, open-minded person that loves to have fun. Not very fond of drinking, but looove going out for dancing!!

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent: German, Portuguese and English - Learning: Spanish

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    German and Brazilian

  • What else ...

    Favourite authors: Eckhart Tolle, Hermann Hesse, Alan Watts, Paulo Freire
    Am not trying to get anywhere specific, but to enjoy every day and appreciate the surprises of life on the way.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Lactose intolerant

Photos

Feedback