Julia

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/08/2018 - 15/08/2018

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I am Julia, a 19 years old girl who lives on the countryside in Switzerland. I would love to spend time in a foreign country to get to know another culture and to be able to work with a family to help them with their children/animals/home. I would love to spend time in the United Kingdom to improve my English language skills and to get to speak with a British accent to get rid of my Swiss accent (this is just a dream and obviously not a necessity;)) I am always open for other kinds of work.
    I am currently taking a gap year and am looking for places to stay for some weeks. I'm not planning on travelling the whole year and want to work in Switzerland as well.
    I grew up in the small village where I still live and where I visited school up until 8th grade. I then started the Gymnasium (college) in the capital of Switzerland, Bern, which is 20 minutes away from my hometown per train. I graduated from this Gymnasium after 4 years of studying there with a focus on biology and chemistry. I am interested in every subject and especially find the natural sciences very fascinating. I also love languages and I would really like to improve my oral English competences to get rid of my Swiss accent. I'm going to uni this autumn to study German and geography and I am really looking forward to this.
    I play the violin in my free time (I've been playing it for 12 years now) in a youth orchestra in Köniz (near Bern) and take an individual lesson once a week. Music is very important for me since I grew up in a musical family and started playing an instrument by myself at a young age. I also love to listen to music and going to concerts.
    Football (soccer) has been my favourite sport for a long time, but I haven't played it in a proper club for nearly 4 years (I only play it for fun/with friends nowadays..). I love reading and find pleasure in many different book genres and authors. I also enjoy drawing and being creative in general (with words/photographs etc).
    I have an elder brother with whom I enjoy every spent minute since he moved out some months ago. My mother is a teacher for young kids (9 to 10 years old) and my father works as a carer for disabled adults and as a musician (he plays the violin and other instruments and plays theatre). My family (also my cousins and grandmothers) is an important part of my life and I absolutely love to listen to the stories of my grandma's life.
    My friends are very important to me and I love spending time with them, be it with swimming in the Aare (the river that flows through Bern) in summer or snowboarding in winter. I also love to just talk to them while eating lunch together or to make music with them.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    I like to cook and bake and often prepare dinner or lunch for me and my family. I love to play with children and enjoy time spent with my 3 years old cousin a lot. I have babysat some children already (ages from 1 year old to 9 years). I have experience in house works such as doing the laundry and cleaning (I help a lot at home and have already worked in a private household to get some money and helped to clean a school for a week last summer as a summer job.).
    I love animals a lot but I am not a professional when it comes to animal care: I had cats as pets once and have already ridden horses a few (10-15) times. I grew up on the countryside and know - due to this - a few things about sheep, goats and cows and have already helped my aunt to take care of her sheep a bit. I spent 2 weeks in the north of Sweden last summer where I helped the aunt of my friend with her 22 sledge dogs (feeding, playing with them, helping her to train them).
    We have a garden at home and I sometimes take care of it (planting new plants, weeding etc) and am used to water our plants .
    I could also help you/your children to learn a language or improve their language skills (German, French, English) or help them with school work.
    I have some experience with practical work as I (mostly in the past) sometimes build small furniture (a deck chair made of wood for example) but I'm not an expert (I'm not really apprenticed).
    I already spent 2 weeks in 2015 with a family in Geneva (a French speaking city in Switzerland) where I helped taking care of their 9-months old son and the household, so I have experience in being away from home (I also went on various vacations with friends/my class without family members) and living in a new environment.

  • Languages spoken

    German and Swiss German (mother tongue), English, French

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    Swiss

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am a vegetarian, but I don't need very special substitutes and can also eat meat once in a while.

Photos

I love spending time in nature. This photograph was taken while rowing in the north of Sweden.
I also enjoy hiking; I climbed the volcano Stromboli in Italy with my class as seen in this picture.

Feedback