Jeanne

From: Bahamas

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bahamas, Cuba, United States, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Virgin Islands (U.S.)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/05/2017 - 30/10/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    I am 67 yrs. old, currently workawaying and visiting family in California. ( beginning February 2019).

    In mid April 2018, I workawayed at a homestead farm in South Carolina, working with animals ( sheep, chickens, rabbits, quail, ducks, turkeys) & working in the vegetable, herb gardens. In June 2018, I worked at a wildlife rescue refuge in Naples, Fl. helping out with injured animal care and several other workaways in Florida with gardens and organic roses care.

    I completed my yoga teacher training at Sivananda Yoga Retreat Center in Nassau, Bahamas in winter/spring 2017. I also worked in the gardens while there ( winter 2017 and winter 2018). I am certified to teach yoga classes.

    I have been farming & landscaping in Maine for the past 20 years. I sold vegetables at my local farmers market and saved a lot for winter use.

    I have 5 children & 7 grandchildren.

    I love to work in the garden growing vegetables, fruit & flowers. I love to work with people & want to be able to do my yoga & meditation practice everyday. I stayed at Omega Institute in New York in the summer of 2017 for 2 months working/trading for room & board, meeting a lot of people and participating in the classes offered to staff. I did a little bit of everything there in all the departments for the every day running of the retreat center. I worked 2 winters ago in US Virgin Islands helping to run an air bnb & keep the vegetable gardens productive. I also worked with a farmer friend in St. Thomas, house sat & assisted with sailboat maintenance.

    I have been traveling to the southern states the past year hoping to find a place to settle after selling my home in Maine. My kids are grown!).

    I am honest, easy going and get along well with just about everyone. I have incorporated into my day many healthy habits of outdoor activity, good eating, getting enough rest, some reading, meditation, yoga and fun!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening, farming, cooking, help with guests, tourists, home maintenance

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    68

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I am honest, easy to get along with, have my own car, & am very knowledgable with the growing process from seeds to harvest. I have grown food in hoop houses and on the land I am interested in sustainable living, economical usage of resources at hand & composting
    I am interested in alternative medicine, herbalism, foraging, making salves and tinctures, yoga, meditation, healthy eating and mindfulness.
    I enjoy meeting people & find it easy to find common interests with everyone.
    I am glad to lend a hand with any projects that are needed.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, but I love fresh food from the garden the best. I don't eat processed food and do try to eat locally sourced food.

Photos

Feedback