Joanne & Ross

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Iceland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2018 - 01/09/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My name is Jo! Me and my Husband (Ross) are taking some time out to travel and explore for roughly 6 months from Mid October 2018. We both love travelling and love the idea of using workaway so that we can get to know different areas and cultures off the beaten track.

    A little about us -

    I'm Jo! I moved to Scotland to from Yorkshire to study Art and quickly Edinburgh became home. Since graduating from Art school I trained as a florist and have worked in Flower shops, as a freelance wedding Florist and in gardening Groups with people with learning disabilities. I have continued to study and recently trained to be a Learning disability Nurse. I love working with people and I am passionate about what I do, I am hard worker and happy to try my hand at most things, this has been clear looking at the wide range of part time jobs I have had through out my studies. Working Front of House at a Theatre in Edinburgh is where Ross and I met almost 10 years ago. Ross has worked in theatre for over 15 years and now has a wealth of technical knowledge and skills. Ross made the leap to train in stage management and technical theatre after working in computer programming in a previous life. Ross works with international visiting companies and loves getting to know people from all walks of life. Along with using his practical skills , Ross' job also involves him actively taking a lead in teaching young people about technical theatre.

    We are looking forward to getting to know Hosts on our adventure and learn new skills.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a nurse with lots of experience of working with people. Prior to becoming a nurse I studied Fine Art and then trained to be a florist. I love the outdoors and travel. I gained my Tefl qualification and have used it previously to teach English in India. I worked in a Camphill community which gave me hands on gardening skills .

    Ross works backstage in theatre and has lots of practical skills, prior to working in the theatre Ross worked in computer programming. Ross is logical and organised a quick thinker when it comes to problem solving. He is always happy to help. Ross loves driving and being around animals.

  • Languages spoken

    English and can do basic conversational French & German

  • Age

    33 & 51

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      NO

Photos

Feedback