Daniel & Jennie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/08/2018 - 25/12/2018

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello! We're Jennie and Daniel. We have been traveling the U.S in our van for a couple months but unfortunately our van broke down so we’re looking to settle down somewhere for a few months. We are very self motivated and hard working, and enjoy any sort of work you can give us. We spent a week with a couple that ran an AirBnB on a horse ranch, and painted their cabin for them. It was one of our favorite experiences so far traveling and pushed us to join Workaway.
    Jennie studied Urban Studies, Spanish, and Latin American Studies in college and hopes to become a social worker in the future. Next year, she will be teaching English in Colombia. She's worked in child care for ten years in babysitting, daycare, mentoring, and teaching dance as well as Latin American topics. As a summer intern she developed curriculum for a female empowerment mentoring program. She enjoys learning new cultures and languages, traveling, dancing, painting, cooking and meeting new people.
    Daniel graduated with a degree in Public Service, focusing on Non-profit Management. His many part-time jobs in college included running an AirBnB, working at a community garden in an underserved area as well as helping at a sustainable art and gardening summer camp for children, and worked with reptiles for a year and a half. He spent a semester interning at an arts and commmunity inclusivity organization helping with securing donations, managing volunteers, and event coordination. He loves playing games, any and all animals, traveling, and trying to learn new languages and musical instruments.
    In addition to what we already know and do, we would love to learn about your interests and if able, take part in what you do. For example, both already like yoga and meditation and other mindfulness practices, but would benefit from learning from somebody with more experience.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We have experience in several areas including:
    -painting
    -basic carpentry
    -cooking
    -cleaning
    -child care
    -light general maintenance and house repair
    -moving furniture
    -teaching
    -event planning
    -gardening and landscaping
    -pet care (dogs, cats, and reptiles).

    If you had something in mind that isn't listed, it doesn't mean we can't do it, we just might need a quick lesson! We love learning new things and are fast and diligent learners.

  • Languages spoken

    Jennie: (English, Spanish, some Portuguese, learning ASL) Daniel: (English, some German, learning ASL)

  • Age

    22 & 23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, but prefer vegetarian/vegan when possible

Photos

Feedback