Jan

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Chile, Uruguay

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2017 - 25/06/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    321

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi there! I'm Jan, a Belgian guy with Spanish roots. One of my main goals in life is to travel the world and meet all kinds of people. I'm generally an easy-going and optimistical person. Workaway really interests me because I'm always looking for new experiences and want to learn all sorts of skills. It's also a great way to visit a country in a different way. I like to stay for longer periods of time around the same place, learning about the place and the people, instead of criss-cossing a country to see as much as possible in your limited time.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I think one of my most useful skills are languages. I speak Dutch (native language), English and Spanish fluently and intermediate French. I could teach people about these languages. I can teach English on a pretty high level since I've had some experience working as an English-teacher in my country.
    Further, I have a degree as a history and ethics teacher (secondary school level) and have been working for the last 3 years in different schools. Doing this job I've developed all sorts of skills, such as: organizing, handling administration, creativity (preparing lessons, presentations, thinking of different working methods), social skills in handling teenagers and working in a team, managing groups during school-trips and so on. I'm also good at being flexible and improvising, very necessary when working with teenagers!
    My favourite hobby is playing music: I play the guitar and alto-saxophone. I don't have specific building skills but I can handle a drill and I've helped with projects that involved building before. I'm also eager to learn more about building and manual-labour in general. I know a bit about farming as well from previous workaway experiences.

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch (native), English (fluently), Spanish (fluently), French (average)

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    Belgian

  • What else ...

    I believe my greatest assets as a workawayer would be that I'm a quick and eager learner, have an open mindset and don't mind 'getting my hands dirty'. I'm interested in a great variety of things and always like to learn, which make me very motivated. I already have experience working as a volunteer in several areas and am a responsible person. Another asset would be that I'm a social person and I easily adapt to new surroundings. Looking forward to meeting you!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Preference for vegetarian food, but not required

Feedback