Nike & Jakob

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India, Jordan, Trinidad and Tobago

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/09/2018 - 01/08/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    We are both born in Frankfurt, Germany. We are a couple for 7 years now and even longer we enjoy to travel and to meet new people from other cultures. We love to get to know new lifestyles, traditions, dishes, and languages as well as seeing new landscapes.
    Nike has been to 28 countries yet and traveled solo for a long time. She lived in the Netherlands for the past three years, has a bachelor in Management of Culture & Arts, is currently searching for a master program in sociocultural anthropology and is always the happiest with friendly people and tasty food around.
    Jakob just finished his master in Evolutionary Biology and has to stop every time he spottes an animal. He's currently on the lookout for a PhD position.
    Since August we travel together. We started with renovating a house in Sweden before climbing mountains in turkey.
    We then went to Israel and Westbank where we spent many hours talking & listening to locals to get a better understanding of the conflicts, history, and the sociopolitical situation in that area.
    In Jordan's south, we lived and worked in the desert helping out at a Bedouin farm and tourists camp. In Jordan Valley we helped build up a farm as well as presented and sold organic products at the national olive oil fair.
    Since December we're in India, where we've been volunteers manager at a festival that celebrates art, music, sustainability, and life.
    Until the end of January, we'll help at homestays, schools, orphanages and film projects here in India before coming to Trinidad.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Team work
    Communication
    Building
    Renovation... Quite experienced in it
    Gardening
    Cooking
    Cleaning
    Animal care... Especially Jakob loves it
    Childcare... We love to play, goof and run around
    Teaching/sharing all knowledge we have
    Computer stuff
    Project-/ Event-/ Volunteers-management
    Social media
    Marketing
    Organization
    Photography
    Shopping
    Dancing
    Administrative work
    Service
    Decorating/ design
    Art
    We are hard working, fit, reliable, empathic, motivated, committed, enthusiastic, and interested in learning new skills and languages.

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, Dutch, little Italian & French

  • Age

    25 & 28

  • What else ...

    We use workaway mainly for the purpose of exchanging culture, knowledge

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback