Jake & Gemma

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/03/2019 - 01/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We are a married couple who love traveling and meeting new people. We have lived in the UK and travelled a lot in Europe and will continue to do so, as Jake is a musician and regularly tours there. We also plan to travel to the Americas in the near future. In between making overseas trips we would like to connect with people and places in our home land, Australia.
    As we both have an interest in regenerative and sustainable practices we like to find hosts that share the same values, that we can learn from and engage in practical experience with.

    GEM- I love the concept of Workaway, travelling to a new place and absorbing the culture directly from the people who live there and making connections with people through contributing efforts. And it's great that we can use this platform to exchange knowledge & energy and learn together!
    A few years ago I did an 'urban farmer course' in Melbourne AUS which sparked my love of horticulture and permaculture. I ended up going down the horticulture career path and did an apprenticeship in Nursery production.
    Since my apprenticeship I have worked in an Australian native nursery which has lead to an interest in things like revegetation, bush foods and regenerative agriculture & forestry. It has also brought me back to my love of permaculture and I plan on doing my PDC this year.
    Although most of my skills will be in the garden I'm more than happy to try other things :)
    Other interest/hobbies: Bush walking/hiking, swimming, yoga, reading, ayurveda, live music, jewellery making.

    JAKE- I am a musician and have spent a large portion of my life touring the world.
    In Australia I work in construction in various fields. I have plenty of renovation experience as I used to fix up old pubs in Melbourne. I am quite handy with carpentry, painting, some plumbing, concreting, most power tools and I love old cars. I rebuilt the engine of my 1977 Ford.
    I love photography, music, writing, surfing and skateboarding. Im going back to TAFE this year to study Digital Marketing.
    I am also interested in learning about hunting in sustainable and ethical ways.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening, carpentry, painting, mechanics, concreting, building, plumbing, animal care & cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    36 & 34

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    Sometimes we travel together and sometimes apart. Gem is going on a permaculture pilgrimage to the byron shire in March 2019.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback