Hallie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2016 - 08/08/2016

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Hallie and I am 26 years old. I have a bachelor's degree in fine arts and now work as an English and art teacher in Spain.

    From May to November of 2015, I backpacked and Workawayed through Europe. I had amazing experiences everywhere I went, and became part of each family I stayed with. Thanks to my wonderful hosts, I was always welcomed with kind hearts, good conversation, and delicious food. Finding the courage to leave home behind and travel the world is liberating, but I believe that with this freedom there comes the responsibility of representing my country and respecting the culture that welcomes me. I ended my trip with a new perspective on the world and a greater appreciation for other cultures. I could not have asked for a better time!

    I’m creative and you'll never catch me traveling without my sketchbook. I love art and revel in the imperfections of all things handmade! As an artist, I keep my mind open to new experiences and challenges. Inspiration is everywhere, and in my travels, I hope to meet like-minded folks willing to expand their imagination, laugh, and exchange ideas with me.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I know that superhuman patience is paramount to the success of learning any new skill. Patience is my expertise; I have a brother with Down’s syndrome and am involved in the special needs community. This has provided me a lifetime’s experience of giving patience and acceptance to people of all abilities.

    I am physically fit and not afraid of manual labor and housework.

    I love to get my hands dirty and create!

    I have been teaching English in a variety of ways for the past several years. Currently, I work part-time in a formal classroom setting. I also give private conversation lessons to adults and teach children through games, songs, books, and crafts.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    USA

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback